IOC Executive Board

The Executive Board, founded in 1921, consists of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) President, four Vice-Presidents and ten other members. All the members of the Executive Board are elected by the Session, by secret ballot, by a majority of votes cast, for a four-year term.

The Executive Board manages the affairs of the IOC. It:
  • assumes the general overall responsibility for the administration of the IOC;
  • monitors the observance of the Olympic Charter;
  • approves the IOC's internal organisation, its organisation chart and all internal regulations relating to its organisation;
  • is responsible for the management of the IOC's finances and prepares an annual report;
  • presents a report to the Session on any proposed change of the Olympic Charter, one of its Rules or bye-laws;
  • submits, on proposal of the Nomination Commission, to the IOC Session the names of the persons whom it recommends for election to the IOC;
  • conducts the procedure for acceptance and selection of candidatures for the organisation of the Olympic Games;
  • establishes the agenda for the IOC Sessions;
  • upon proposal from the President, it appoints the Director General;
  • enacts, in the form it deems most appropriate, (codes, rulings, norms, guidelines, guides, instructions) all regulations necessary to ensure the proper implementation of the Olympic Charter and the organisation of the Olympic Games;
  • organises periodic meetings with the IFs and with the NOCs at least once every two years;
  • creates and allocates IOC honorary distinctions;
  • performs all other duties assigned to it by the Session.

The Executive Board meets when convened by the President on the latter's initiative or at the request of the majority of its members.


All members of the IOC Executive Board are elected by the Session, in a secret ballot, by a majority of the votes cast.


The duration of the terms of office of the Vice-Presidents and of the ten other members of the IOC Executive Board is four years. A member may serve for a maximum of two successive terms on the IOC Executive Board, regardless of the capacity in which he has been elected.

In the case of a member having completed two successive terms of office pursuant to Rule 19.2.2 (of the Olympic Charter) above, he may be elected again as member of the IOC Executive Board after a minimum period of two years. This does not apply to the election for the office of President, for which there is no waiting period.

In case of vacancy of any position other than the President's, the following Session elects a member to such position for a term of four years.

All members of the IOC Executive Board begin their terms of office and renewals at the end of the Session which elected them. Their terms of office cease at the end of the ordinary Session held during the year in which they expire.

back to top