Dr Robin E.<br>MITCHELL

Dr Robin E.

Entry in the IOC



10 March 1946


Honours Degree in Science; Medical Degree, Adelaide University (Australia)


Family Medicine Practitioner (1977-2012); sports administrator (1993-)

Sports career

Fiji National representative in athletics and hockey; national hockey coach (1984-1990)

Sports administration

Fiji team physician (1984-1992) at the Olympic Games, at the Commonwealth Games and at the South Pacific Games; member of Oceania National Olympic Committees (ONOC) Medical Commission (1985-1993); ONOC Vice-President (1989-1993) then Secretary General (1993-2009) then President (2009-); member of the Association of National Olympic Committees (ANOC) Executive Council (1989-2008) then Vice-President (2009-2018) then Senior Vice-President & Acting President of ANOC (2018-); former member of the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) Medical Commission; former member of the International Hockey Federation (FIH) Medical Commission; Chairman of the South Pacific Games Organising Committee (1997-2003) and of the 18th Hobie 16 World Championships (2006-2007); Fiji Association of Sports and National Olympic Committee President (1997-2005); IOC Representative on the Foundation Board of the World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) (2001-2018); Member of the WADA's Education Committee (2005-2010); Chairman of the Oceania Regional Antidoping Organisation (2005-2017); Chairman of the ANOC Medical Commission (2014-2018)

IOC History

Member of the Executive Board (2017-); Vice-Chair of the Medical Commission (2014-2015), then of the Medical and Scientific Commission (2015-), Chair of the Olympic Solidarity Commission (2018-); Vice-Chair of Olympic Channel Services S.A. (Switzerland) (2022-); member of the following Commissions: Medical (1995-2014), Olympic Solidarity (2000-), Coordination for the Games of the XXVII Olympiad Sydney 2000 (1999-2000), “IOC 2000” (1999), 2009 Congress (2006-2009), Ethics (2013-2018), Coordination for the Games of the XXXII Olympiad Tokyo 2020 (2013-2021), Nominations (2014-2015), IOC Members Election (2015-), Women in Sport (2020-2021)