World Rugby

Address World Rugby House
8-10, Pembroke Street Lower
Dublin 2

Phone +353 1 240 92 00

Recognised by the International Olympic Committee as the International Federation responsible for the sport of rugby, World Rugby currently has 120 affiliated countries and territories.

Olympic Rugby

Rugby Union - 15 players per team - has been featured on the Olympic programme four times: in 1900, 1908, 1920 and 1924. In Rio in 2016, Rugby Sevens will make its appearance at the Olympic Games, with both a men’s and women’s tournament.

Olympic format

In Rugby Sevens, each team has seven players on the pitch, as well as five substitutes. Only three of these substitutes may play during any given match. Every match, except for the final, is divided into two halves of seven minutes each, for a total of 14 minutes. Extra time can be added if needed. The final match will consist of two 10-minute halves, plus extra time if needed.