Raja Randhir SINGH

Entry in the IOC 2001
Born 18 October 1946
Games Participated 1968, 1972, 1976, 1980, 1984
Athlete profile
Raja Randhir SINGH
Raja Randhir SINGH

Raja Randhir SINGH



Senior Cambridge-Yadavindra Public School, Patiala (India); B.A. in History from St. Stephen’s College, University of Delhi (India)

Sports practised

Shooting (trap and skeet), golf, swimming, squash, cricket

Sports career

Represented India in shooting at the Olympic Games (Tokyo 1964 (Reserve Shooter), Mexico 1968, Munich 1972, Montreal 1976, Moscow 1980 and Los Angeles 1984), at the Asian Games (Bangkok 1978, New Delhi 1982, Seoul 1986 and Hiroshima 1994) and at the Commonwealth Games (Edmonton 1978); won Gold Medal in Shooting at Bangkok Asian Games and Bronze (individual) and Silver (team) at the Asian Games (New Delhi 1982)

Sports administration

Honorary Secretary General of the Indian Olympic Association (IOA) (1987-2014); Member of the governing body of Sports Authority of India (1987-2010); Secretary General of Olympic Council of Asia (1991-2015); Founder Secretary General of the Afro-Asian Games Council (1998-2007); Member of the ANOC Executive Council (2002-); Member of the ANOC working group; IOC Representative on the World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) Foundation Board (2003-2005); Member of the WADA's Finance and Administration Committee (2005); Life vice President of OCA (2015-); Chair Asian Games Coordination Committee (2019-)

Awards and distinctions

Arjuna Award (India’s highest Sports Award) (1979); Maharaja Ranjit Singh Award (State Sports Award) (1979); Merit Award from OCA (2005); Merit Award from ANOC (2006); Olympic Order, Silver (2014); Honorary Doctorate of literature from Lakshmibai National Institute of Physical Education, Government of India

IOC History

Member of the IOC from 2001 to 2014; Honorary Member since 2014; Member of the following commissions: Olympic Games Study (2002-2003), Sport for All (2004-2013), Women and Sport (2006-2013), Coordination for the 1st Summer Youth Olympic Games Singapore 2010 (2008-2011); International Olympic Truce Foundation (2007-)