Entry in the IOC 2019
Born 28 March 1959




Political Sciences, Universidad de Costa Rica, Costa Rica (1977-1981); M.P.P Georgetown University, Washington DC., USA (1986-1989) 


Minister of Security, Department of Security and Interior, Costa Rica (1996-1998); Congresswoman, National Assembly of Costa Rica (2002-2006); Minister of Justice and Peace, Department of Justice and Peace, Costa Rica (2006-2010); Vice-President of Costa Rica, Government of Costa Rica (2006-2010); President of Costa Rica, Government of Costa Rica (2010-2014); Consultant, United Nations Development Programme (UNDP), Interamerican Development Bank (IADB), Organisation of American States (OAS), United States Agency for International Development (USAID) (1994-); Chair, Global Commission on Elections and Democracy in the Digital Age of the Kofi Annan Foundation (1994-); Member, Advisory Board of the 2019 Human Development Report; Visiting Professor, Instituto Tecnológico y de Estudios Superiores de Monterrey, México (2015-2017); Fellow, Institute of Politics, Mc Court School of Public Policy, Georgetown University, USA (2015-2016); Visiting Professor, Cátedra José Bonifacio, Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil

Sports practised

Cycling; swimming (recreational)

Sports administration

Financial and political support to the Costa Rican Olympic Committee; Financing and organisation of the 2010 Central America Games; Financing and organisation of the 2013 FIFA U-17 Women World Cup

Membership of other associations

Vice-President, World Leadership Alliance, Club de Madrid; Co-chair, Interamerican Dialogue; Board Member, Concordia Summit; Board Member, SEK International; Board Member, Euro-America Foundation

Awards and distinctions

Honoris Causa Degree, University for Peace, Costa Rica (2010); Honoris Causa Degree, Georgetown University, D.C., EEUU (2011); Honoris Causa Degree, Kyoto University of Foreign Studies, Japan (2012); Award for Excellence in National Stewardship, Peter Benchley Ocean Awards (2011); Shark Guardian of the Year Award, The Shark Project (2013); Medal Pierre de Coubertin, Costa Rica Olympic Committee (2013); Women of the Decade in Public Service & Leadership, Women Economic Forum (2019). 

IOC history

Member of the Public Affairs and Social Development through Sport Commission (2020-)