International Equestrian Federation

Address HM King Hussein I Building
Ch. de la Joliette 8
1006 Lausanne

Phone +41 21 310 47 47
Fax +41 21 310 47 60

Today, the FEI is the governing body for eight equestrian disciplines: Jumping, Dressage, Eventing, Driving, Endurance, Vaulting, Reining and Para-Equestrian

First federation

Equestrian events were included in the Olympic Games for the first time in 1900 in a format that has remained remarkably consistent to the present day. With the inclusion of the sport in the Olympic Games, it became obvious that recognised rules were essential. In May 1921, delegates from 10 national equestrian organisations met in Lausanne to discuss the formation of an international federation.

Values and principles

Equestrian sport is one of the very few sports where men and women compete on equal terms all the way up to Olympic level. It is also the only sport which involves two athletes: horse and rider. The relationship and mutual respect built up between the two is the key to a successful partnership.

Equestrian at the Olympics

Three equestrian disciplines have been on the Olympic programme since 1912: Jumping, Dressage and Eventing. Since 1912, 2,067 riders from 65 countries have competed approximately 4,000 times in Olympic competitions. Most riders are one-time Olympians. However, there are 43 riders that stand out for having competed in five or more Olympics, namely Ian Millar (CAN) with nine participations, the d’Inzeo (ITA) brothers with eight and Michael Plumb (USA) with seven Olympic participations