IOC women and sport awards



The IOC Women and Sport Trophy represents opportunity, recognition and empowerment.

Each year, the IOC Women and Sport Awards are given to women, men or organisations who have made remarkable contributions to the development, encouragement and reinforcement of women and girls’ participation in sport

Introduced in 2000, the award highlights role models and change agents in the pursuit of gender equality. Six trophies are distributed each year, one for each of the five continents and one at world level. In 20 years of Awards, there have been 116 recipients from 65 different nations.

The winners’ work to promote gender equality through different projects is also supported with a grant to help them continue and extend their work.

Call for Applications

The call for applications for the IOC Women and Sport Awards is currently closed. For more information, please contact us at

2021 Women and Sport Award Winners

World Winner: Hashimoto Seiko


Continental winners

Winner for Africa: Natsiraishe Maritsa, Zimbabwe

Winner for the Americas: Figure Skating in Harlem, USA

Winner for Asia: Zhang Xia, China

Winner for Europe: Kari Fasting, Norway

Oceania Winner: Tracey Holmes, Australia


The press release providing more information on the winners can be found here.

Watch the replay of the announcement here.

Previous winners











Find out more about previous trophy winners:
back to top