IOC Session to vote on Gangwon’s proposal to host Winter Youth Olympic Games 2024

Meeting in Lausanne, Switzerland, ahead of the opening of the Winter Youth Olympic Games (YOG), the International Olympic Committee (IOC) Executive Board (EB) today decided to submit to the IOC Session the proposal by the Korean Sport and Olympic Committee (KSOC) and the Gangwon province to host the next Winter YOG in 2024.


The project benefits greatly from the legacy of the Olympic Winter Games PyeongChang 2018.

The vote will take place during the 135th IOC Session, also in Lausanne, on Friday 10 January.

Following the decision by the IOC EB last month to enter into a targeted dialogue with the KSOC, the Future Host Commission for the Olympic Winter Games has conducted a series of meetings and received the required documentation from the Korean National Olympic Committee and the various levels of government.

These have allowed the Commission to finalise its report and confirm the aspects of its original assessment of the proposition. It is based on a solid technical plan that builds upon the legacy of the Olympic Winter Games PyeongChang 2018 and focuses on expanding youth participation in winter sport.

With the proposed venues consisting of a split between the 2018 sites in the cities of Gangneung and PyeongChang, in Gangwon province, the designation chosen by the Korean parties for the project was Gangwon 2024.

As per the recommendations of Olympic Agenda 2020, the Korean plan emphasises affordability and sustainability, making maximum use of existing and temporary facilities and aligning with the long-term sporting, economic and social goals of the host cities, region and country. The 4th Winter Youth Olympic Games 2024 are the first to be covered by the IOC’s new approach to future host elections, which is based on flexibility and dialogue.

Related News
  • PyeongChang 2018 YOG

    IOC to study proposal from Korean Sport and Olympic Committee for 4th Winter Youth Olympic Games 2024

  • IOC Executive Board Lausanne IOC News

    IOC Members Kristin Kloster Aasen and Octavian Morariu lead Future Host Commissions

back to top