IOC Session elects two Executive Board Members and ten new IOC Members

26 Jun 2019
IOC News Press Release

IOC Session elects ten new IOC Members IOC/Greg Martin
The 134th IOC Session elected HRH Prince Feisal Al Hussein and Nawal El Moutawakel as new members of the Executive Board (EB) of the International Olympic Committee (IOC). The Session also voted for ten new Members, following the proposal of the IOC EB from 22 May 2019.

HRH Prince Feisal will replace Gunilla Lindberg on the IOC EB at the end of the 134th IOC Session. Mrs Lindberg’s eight-year term on the IOC EB thus comes to an end.

Nawal El Moutawakel will replace Willi Kaltschmitt Luján on the IOC EB on 1 January 2020. Mr Kaltschmitt Luján reaches the age limit at the end of this year.

The group of new IOC Members is composed of seven Individual Members and three Members whose election is linked to a function within a National Olympic Committee (NOC) or a Continental Association of NOCs.

Four women and three men make up the group of seven new Individual Members, while the Members linked to a function within an NOC or a Continental Association of NOCs are three men, chosen in close consultation with the Association of National Olympic Committees (ANOC).

Individual Members
Representatives of the Olympic Movement

Two IOC Members linked to a function within an NOC:

  • Narinder Dhruv Batra (Male, 19.04.1957, India, President of the Indian Olympic Association)

  • Kee Heung Lee (Male, 03.01.1955, Republic of Korea, President of the Korean Sport & Olympic Committee)

One IOC Member with a role within a Continental Association of NOCs:

After these elections, the total number of IOC Members is now 105

The IOC Session re-elected, after eight years of membership, Gerardo Werthein (Argentina). 

The Session also extended the terms of office of three IOC Members who will reach the age limit of 70 at the end of 2019 or 2020:

  • John Coates, AC (Australia) – until the end of 2024, due to his important role as Chair of the Legal Affairs Commission

  • Uğur Erdener (Turkey, IOC Vice-President) – until the end of 2024, due to his important role as Chair of the Medical and Scientific Commission and in particular with regard to his function as representative of the Olympic Movement in the World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA)

  • Mamadou D. Ndiaye (Senegal) – until the end of 2023, as long as he continues to be the President of the NOC of Senegal, due to his distinguished position in the Government of Senegal and Senegalese business community, and given the organisation of the Youth Olympic Games Dakar 2022.

Honorary Members

The IOC Session approved the election as IOC Honorary Members of the following IOC Members who are due to finish their term of office at the end of 2019 because of the age limit.

This group includes Ung Chang, who reached the age limit at the end of last year, but did not attend the IOC Session in Buenos Aires in October 2018 and has therefore been elected by the 134th IOC Session this year in Lausanne. His honorary membership comes into force immediately.


The International Olympic Committee is a not-for-profit independent international organisation made up of volunteers, which is committed to building a better world through sport. It redistributes more than 90 per cent of its income to the wider sporting movement, which means that every day the equivalent of 3.4 million US dollars goes to help athletes and sports organisations at all levels around the world.


For more information, please contact the IOC Media Relations Team:
Tel: +41 21 621 6000, email:, or visit our web site at

Broadcast quality footage

The IOC Newsroom:




For an extensive selection of photos available shortly after each event, please follow us on Flickr.

To request archive photos and footage, please contact our Images team at:

Social media

For up-to-the-minute information on the IOC and regular updates, please follow us on Twitter, Facebook and YouTube.

Related News
  • IOC News

    Evolution of the revolution: IOC transforms future Olympic Games elections

  • Keynote speech by Christiana Figueres, Former Executive Secretary of the United Nations framework Convention on Climate Change IOC News

    “You punch way above your weight” – global climate leader Christiana Figueres addresses IOC Session

back to top