IOC Executive Board to propose eight new Members to Session in Rio de Janeiro

IOC Executive Board to propose eight new Members to Session in Rio de Janeiro
© IOC/ Christophe Moratal

The Executive Board (EB) of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) will propose eight new Members for election at the 129th IOC Session ahead of the Olympic Games Rio 2016 this summer.

The list is the result of the first targeted recruitment process for IOC Membership as outlined in Olympic Agenda 2020, the IOC’s strategic roadmap for the future of the Olympic Movement. A new set of criteria was applied by the IOC Members Election Commission, chaired by HRH the Princess Royal, which proposed the list of candidates to the EB. The Commission devised a procedure aimed at targeting new members with skills and experience needed by the IOC. The new approach includes integrity checks by the IOC Ethics Commission.

The proposed candidatures represent a cross-section of expertise from the worlds of sport, culture, medicine, sociology, business, law and management. Gender equality is guaranteed with four women and four men on the list.

The eight candidates (full CVs attached) are:

  • Sari Essayah:
    (Female, Finland, Olympian, racewalker, Chair of the Finnish Christian Democratic Party, individual member, 21.02.1967);

  • Ivo Ferriani:
    (Male, Italy, Olympian, bobsleigher, President of the International Bobsleigh and Skeleton Federation, member representing an International Federation, 13.05.1960);

  • Luis Moreno:
    (Male, Colombia, President of the Inter-American Development Bank, individual member, 03.05.1953);

  • Auvita Rapilla:
    (Female, Papua New Guinea, Secretary General of the Papua New Guinea Olympic Committee, ANOC and ONOC Executive Committee Member, individual member, 21.01.1971);

  • Anant Singh:
    (Male, South Africa, film producer, individual member, 29.05.1956);

  • Tricia Smith:
    (Female, Canada, Olympian, rower, President of the Canadian Olympic Committee, member representing an NOC, 14.04.1957);

  • Karl Stoss:
    (Male, Austria, Chairman of the Managing Board of Casinos Austria AG, President of the Austrian Olympic Committee, individual member, 26.11.1956); and

  • Nita Ambani:
    (Female, India, Founder and Chair of the Reliance Foundation, individual member, 01.11.1962).

“These eight candidates that we are proposing to the next IOC Session are a strong and varied group of individuals that are experts in their respective fields and will make great contributions,” said IOC President Thomas Bach. “They have been vetted by new criteria in keeping with the recommendations of Olympic Agenda 2020. These candidates will add extra strength and diversity to our already universal orchestra of IOC Members.”

The addition of eight new Members would bring the total number of Members to 99. The 129th IOC Session is scheduled to take place from 2 to 4 and on 21 August 2016. More proposals are due for the IOC Session in Lima in 2017 after elections in certain International Summer Sports Federations and National Olympic Committees (NOCs) following the Olympic Games Rio 2016, in consultation with the respective stakeholders.

The International Olympic Committee is a not-for-profit independent international organisation made up of volunteers, which is committed to building a better world through sport. It redistributes more than 90 per cent of its income to the wider sporting movement, which means that every day the equivalent of USD 3.25 million goes to help athletes and sports organisations at all levels around the world.

For more information, please contact the IOC Media Relations Team:
Tel: +41 21 621 6000 email:, or visit our website at


For an extensive selection of photos available shortly after each event, please follow us on Flickr.
To request archive photos and footage, please contact our Images team at:

Social media
For up-to-the-minute information on the IOC and regular updates, please follow us on Twitter, Facebook and YouTube.