Creation of an Athletes’ Commission for Gangwon 2024

30 May 2022
IOC News YOG Gangwon 2024

The Gangwon 2024 Winter Youth Olympic Games Organising Commission has announced the creation of an Athletes’ Commission and appointed its Chairperson and members.

Won Yun-jong (L) / Choi Min-jeong (R) Getty Images - Won Yun-jong (L) / Choi Min-jeong (R)

Won Yun-jong (from the Gangwon Provincial Government), a bobsleigh silver medallist at the Olympic Winter Games PyeongChang 2018, was appointed as the Athletes' Commission Chairperson, while Choi Min-jeong, a short track speed skating gold medallist at the Olympic Winter Games Beijing 2022, Kang Su-yeon (curling), Kim Yong-gyu  (biathlon), Lee Don-goo  (ice hockey), and Choi Eun-joo  (luge) were selected as athlete members.

The first Athletes’ Commission meeting was held at the Velodrome conference room in the Seoul Olympic Park on 27 May. The athlete members discussed various activities and support plans, including mentoring programmes.

Related News
  • Gangwon 2024

    Yuna Kim appointed as Ambassador for the Winter Youth Olympic Games Gangwon 2024

  • Gangwon 2024

    Youth Olympic Games Gangwon 2024 to learn from Beijing 2022

  • Youth Olympic Winter Games IOC News

    Dates and venues confirmed for Gangwon 2024

  • YOG

    The Youth Olympic Games on track

back to top