Kaden Groves wins first Grand Tour stage at Vuelta a España 2022 with sprint in Cabo de Gata

Discover what happened on Stage 11 of the 2022 Spanish Grand Tour on Wednesday, 31 August 2022.

By Olympics.com writer | Created 31 August 2022

Aussie road cycling sprinter Kaden Groves salvaged Team BikeExchange-Jayco's 2022 Vuelta a España by winning Stage 11 of the Spanish Grand Tour on Wednesday (31 August).

The 23-year-old timed his launch to perfection with the finish line in sight and held off a surging Danny van Poppel to win in Cabo de Gata after a flat 191.2-km course from the ElPozo Alimentación building in Alhama de Murcia on a day that involved no categorised climbing. It is Groves' third stage win of the season, his second on the WorldTour, and first at a Grand Tour.

BikeExchange had started the day in disarray after their leader Simon Yates, who had been fifth in the general classification, had to withdraw from the race after testing positive for Covid. Yates and Ineos Grenadiers' Pavel Sivakov, who had been ninth after Stage 10, were two of five riders to quit the tour ahead of stage 11 for that reason, a day after double stage winner Sam Bennett – who would have been favoured to win on Wednesday – also withdrew because of the coronavirus.

Overall leader Remco Evenepoel remains in the red jersey, while points leader Mads Pedersen finished fifth on the stage.

World champion Julian Alaphilippe's Vuelta – and possibly his world title defence – came to a premature end when he went down in a crash with just under 70km to go. The Frenchman was taken away in an ambulance with his right arm and shoulder in a sling. With just over two weeks to the UCI Road World Championships in Wollongong, Australia, Alaphilippe faces a race against time to recover from his latest injury setback.

Thursday's 12th stage will take the riders from Salobreña to Estepona, a flat stage with a nasty Category 1 climb up to the Alto de Peñas Blancas to finish.

READ MORE: Vuelta a España 2022 preview

Vuelta a España 2022 results: Stage 11 - ElPozo Alimentación, Alhama de Murcia to Cabo de Gata (191.2km) - Wednesday 31 August

  1. Kaden Groves (AUS / BikeExchange-Jayco) 05h03'14"
  2. Danny van Poppel (NED / Bora-Hansgrohe) same time
  3. Tim Merlier (BEL / Alpecin-Deceuninck) same time
  4. Juan Sebastián Molano Benavides (COL / UAE Team Emirates) same time
  5. Mads Pedersen (DEN / Trek-Segafredo) same time

Vuelta a España 2022: General classification standings after Stage 11 - Wednesday 31 August

  1. Remco Evenepoel (BEL / Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl) 39h39'04"
  2. Primoz Roglic (SLO / Jumbo-Visma) +02'41"
  3. Enric Mas (ESP / Movistar Team) +03'03"
  4. Carlos Rodríguez Cano (ESP / Ineos Grenadiers) +03'55"
  5. Juan Ayuso Pesquera (ESP / UAE Team Emirates) +04'53"

Stage-by-stage winners of the 2022 Vuelta a España

  • Stage 1: 19 August, Utrecht to Utrecht (team time trial, 23.3km) - Won by Jumbo-Visma, Robert Gesink (Jumbo-Visma) takes overall leader's red jersey
  • Stage 2: 20 August, 's-Hertogenbosch to Utrecht (175.1km) - Won by Sam Bennett (Bora-Hansgrohe), Mike Teunissen (Jumbo-Visma) takes overall lead
  • Stage 3: 21 August, Breda to Breda (193.5km) - Won by Sam Bennett, Edoardo Affini (Jumbo-Visma) takes overall lead
  • Rest Day 1: 22 August (transfer day)
  • Stage 4: 23 August, Vitoria-Gasteiz to Laguardia (152.5km) - Won by Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma), who also takes the overall lead
  • Stage 5: 24 August, Irún to Bilbao (187.2km) - Won by Marc Soler (UAE Team Emirates). Rudy Molard (Groupama FDJ) takes overall lead
  • Stage 6: 25 August, Bilbao to Ascensión al Pico Jano, San Miguel de Aguayo (181.2km) - Won by Jay Vine (Alpecin-Deceuninck), Remco Evenepoel (Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl) takes overall lead
  • Stage 7: 26 August, Camargo to Cistierna (190km) - Won by Jesús Herrada (Cofidis). Remco Evenepoel retains overall lead
  • Stage 8: 27 August, La Pola Llaviana/Pola de Laviana to Colláu Fancuaya, Yernes y Tameza (153.4km) - Won by Jay Vine, Remco Evenepoel retains overall lead
  • Stage 9: 28 August, Villaviciosa to Les Praeres, Nava (171.4km) - Won by Louis Meintjes (Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert), Remco Evenepoel retains overall lead
  • Rest Day 2: 29 August
  • Stage 10: 30 August, Elche to Alicante (time trial, 30.9km) - Won by Remco Evenepoel, who retains overall lead
  • Stage 11: 31 August, ElPozo Alimentación, Alhama de Murcia to Cabo de Gata (191.2km) - Won by Kaden Groves (BikeExchange-Jayco). Remco Evenepoel retains overall lead
  • Stage 12: 1 September, Salobreña to Peñas Blancas, Estepona (192.7km)
  • Stage 13: 2 September, Ronda to Montilla (168.4km)
  • Stage 14: 3 September, Montoro to Sierra de la Pandera (160.3km)
  • Stage 15: 4 September, Martos to Sierra Nevada, Alto Hoya de la Mora, Monachil (152.6km)
  • Rest Day 3: 5 September
  • Stage 16: 6 September, Sanlúcar de Barrameda to Tomares (189.4km)
  • Stage 17: 7 September, Aracena to Monasterio de Tentudía (162.3km)
  • Stage 18: 8 September, Trujillo to Alto de Piornal (192km)
  • Stage 19: 9 September, Talavera de la Reina to Talavera de la Reina (138.3km)
  • Stage 20: 10 September, Moralzarzal to Puerto de Navacerrada (181km)
  • Stage 21: 11 September, Las Rozas to Madrid, Paisaje de la Luz (96.7km)


Free live sport events. Unlimited access to series. Unrivalled Olympic news & highlights.