Jumbo-Visma win opening team time trial of La Vuelta 22 as Robert Gesink takes leader's red jersey in Utrecht

The Dutch veteran Gesink led his Jumbo-Visma teammates home across the line during the Spanish Grand Tour's first-stage team time trial to take the race lead on home soil in the Netherlands. The race returns to Spain on Tuesday.

By Olympics.com

Dutchman Robert Gesink is the first leader of the 2022 road cycling season's third and final men's Grand Tour, the 2022 Vuelta a España, after his Jumbo-Visma team won the race's opening team time trial.

The race's 22 teams completed a 23.3-kilometre (14.5-mile) lap around Utrecht as part of a three-stage Grand Depart for the Spanish race in the Netherlands, with the home team – and rider – giving the Dutch fans a result to cheer.

Jumbo-Visma finished the first stage in 24 minutes 40 seconds, 13 seconds faster than second-placed team Ineos Grenadiers, giving three-time defending champion Primoz Roglic – who was second over the line behind Gesink – a small lead over Richard Carapaz.

As Gesink was the first man across the line from his team, he picks up the leader's red jersey ahead of Saturday's second stage, a 175.1km (108.8mi) trek from 's-Hertogenbosch back to Utrecht.

The race will reach Spanish soil on Tuesday, with a race from Vitoria-Gasteiz to Laguardia on Stage 4.

READ MORE: Vuelta a España 2022 preview

Vuelta a España 2022 results: Stage 1 - Utrecht to Utrecht (team time trial), 23.3km - Friday 19 August

  1. Jumbo-Visma, 24:40
  2. Ineos Grenadiers, +0:13 to leader
  3. Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team, +0:14
  4. Team BikeExchange-Jayco, +0:31
  5. UAE Team Emirates, +0:33

Vuelta a España 2022: General classification standings after Stage 1 - Friday 19 August

  1. Robert Gesink (NED / Jumbo-Visma), 24:40
  2. Primoz Roglic (SLO / Jumbo-Visma), same time
  3. Chris Harper (AUS / Jumbo-Visma), same time
  4. Sepp Kuss (USA / Jumbo-Visma), same time
  5. Rohan Dennis (AUS / Jumbo-Visma), same time

Stage-by-stage winners of the 2022 Vuelta a España

  • Stage 1: 19 August, Utrecht to Utrecht (team time trial, 23.3km) – Won by Jumbo-Visma, Robert Gesink takes overall leader's red jersey
  • Stage 2: 20 August, 's-Hertogenbosch to Utrecht (175.1km)
  • Stage 3: 21 August, Breda to Breda (193.5km)
  • Rest Day 1: 22 August (transfer day)
  • Stage 4: 23 August, Vitoria-Gasteiz to Laguardia (152.5km)
  • Stage 5: 24 August, Irún to Bilbao (187.2km)
  • Stage 6: 25 August, Bilbao to Ascensión al Pico Jano, San Miguel de Aguayo (181.2km)
  • Stage 7: 26 August, Camargo to Cistierna (190km)
  • Stage 8: 27 August, La Pola Llaviana/Pola de Laviana to Colláu Fancuaya, Yernes y Tameza (153.4km)
  • Stage 9: 28 August, Villaviciosa to Les Praeres, Nava (171.4km)
  • Rest Day 2: 29 August
  • Stage 10: 30 August, Elche to Alicante (time trial, 30.9km)
  • Stage 11: 31 August, ElPozo Alimentación, Alhama de Murcia to Cabo de Gata (191.2km)
  • Stage 12: 1 September, Salobreña to Peñas Blancas, Estepona (192.7km)
  • Stage 13: 2 September, Ronda to Montilla (168.4km)
  • Stage 14: 3 September, Montoro to Sierra de la Pandera (160.3km)
  • Stage 15: 4 September, Martos to Sierra Nevada, Alto Hoya de la Mora, Monachil (152.6km)
  • Rest Day 3: 5 September
  • Stage 16: 6 September, Sanlúcar de Barrameda to Tomares (189.4km)
  • Stage 17: 7 September, Aracena to Monasterio de Tentudía (162.3km)
  • Stage 18: 8 September, Trujillo to Alto de Piornal (192km)
  • Stage 19: 9 September, Talavera de la Reina to Talavera de la Reina (138.3km)
  • Stage 20: 10 September, Moralzarzal to Puerto de Navacerrada (181km)
  • Stage 21: 11 September, Las Rozas to Madrid, Paisaje de la Luz (96.7km)


Free live sport events. Unlimited access to series. Unrivalled Olympic news & highlights.