Wout van Aert wins stage 4 to extend overall lead at Tour de France 2022 - Results

Find out what happened in the 171.5km-stage between Dunkirk and Calais on the fourth day of racing at Le Tour.

By Olympics.com

Wout van Aert won the fourth stage of road cycling's 2022 Tour de France on Tuesday (5 July).

Following three consecutive second places in the first three stages, the Belgian rider took his sixth stage victory at La Grande Boucle after launching a solo attack with 10km to go.

Van Aert crossed the finish line in Calais eight seconds ahead of Jasper Philipsen of Denmark, with France's Christophe Laporte rounding up the podium.

"I didn't want to take any risk anymore," said the Tokyo 2020 silver medallist, who was narrowly beaten in the last two sprints.

"It was quite obvious that we were trying something with the team and we were in a perfect position thanks to Nathan (van Hooydonck) and Stevie (Kruijswijk) on the (final) climb.

"On the radio we heard that there was some damage so I went full to the top and see what happened and then I came on top alone. I was a bit in doubt about waiting for Jonas (Vingegaard) and (Adam) Yates, the guys behind me, then I decided to go alone and it was 10km all out, suffering!"

Here is everything you need to know about this year's Tour de France.

The 27-year-old, who became the first Belgian to win a Tour stage in yellow since Freddy Maertens in 1976, has now extended his lead in the general standings from seven to 25 seconds on his compatriot Yves Lampaert, while two-time defending champion Tadej Pogacar sits in third, 32 seconds back.

Stage 5 will lead the riders over 153.7km from Lille Metropole to Arenberg Porte du Hainaut: the race will pass through Roubaix and features 11 cobbled sections for a total of 20km.

2022 Tour de France: Stage 4 results - Tuesday 5 July

  1. Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) 4:01:36
  2. Jasper Philipsen (Alpecin-Deceuninck) +0:08
  3. Christophe Laporte (Jumbo-Visma) +0:08
  4. Alexander Kristoff (Intermarche-Wanty-Gobert Materiaux) +0.08
  5. Peter Sagan (Total Energies) +0.08

2022 Tour de France: General classification standings after stage 4 on Tuesday 5 July

  1. Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) 13:02:43
  2. Yves Lampaert (Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team) +0:25
  3. Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates) +0:32
  4. Mads Pedersen (Trek-Segafredo) +0:36
  5. Jonas Vingegaard (Jumbo-Visma) +0:40

Full rankings are available on the official Tour de France website.

Schedule and stage winners: Day-by-day route of 2022 Tour de France

Fri 1 July: Stage 1 – Copenhagen-Copenhagen (time trial, 13.2 km) - Won by Yves Lampaert (Belgium), who also took the yellow jersey for overall lead of the race's general classification.

Sat 2 July: Stage 2 – Roskilde-Nyborg (202.5 km) - Won by Fabio Jakobsen (Netherlands). Wout van Aert (Belgium) claims overall race lead.

Sun 3 July: Stage 3 – Vejle-Sonderborg (182 km) - Won by Dylan Groenewegen (Netherlands). Wout van Aert (Belgium) retains overall race lead.

Mon 4 July: Transfer Day - from Denmark to France.

Tue 5 July: Stage 4 – Dunkerque-Calais (171.5 km) - Won by Wout van Aert (Belgium), who retains overall race lead.

Wed 6 July: Stage 5 – Lille Metropole-Arenburg Porte du Hainaut (157 km)

Thu 7 July: Stage 6 – Binche-Longwhy (220km)

Fri 8 July: Stage 7 – Tomblaine-La Super Planche de Belle Filles (176.5 km)

Sat 9 July: Stage 8 – Dole-Lausanne (186.5km)

Sunday 10 July: Stage 9 – Aigle-Chatel les Portes du Soleil (193km)

Monday 11 July: Rest Day

Tuesday 12 July: Stage 10 – Morzine Les Portes du Soleil-Megeve (148.5km)

Wednesday 13 July: Stage 11 – Albertville-Col du Granon Serre Chevalier (152km)

Thursday 14 July: Stage 12 – Briancon-Alpe d’Huez (165.5km)

Friday 15 July: Stage 13 – Le Bourg d’Oisans-Saint Etienne (193km)

Saturday 16 July: Stage 14 – Saint Etienne-Mende (192.5km)

Sunday 17 July: Stage 15 – Rodez-Carcassonne (202.5km)

Monday 18 July: Rest Day

Tuesday 19 July: Stage 16 – Carcassonne-Foix (178,5km)

Wednesday 20 July: Stage 17 – Saint-Gaudens-Peyragudes (130km)

Thursday 21 July: Stage 18 – Lourdes-Hautacam (143.5km)

Friday 22 July: Stage 19 – Castelnau-Magnoac – Cahors (188.5km)

Saturday 23 July: Stage 20 – Lacapelle-Marival - Rocamadour (time trial, 40.7km)

Sunday 24 July: Stage 21 – Paris La Defence Arena – Paris Champs Elysees (116km)


Free live sport events. Unlimited access to series. Unrivalled Olympic news & highlights.