Tom Pidcock triumphs at Alpe d'Huez as Jonas Vingegaard keeps overall lead at Tour de France 2022

The MTB Olympic champion became the youngest ever winner at the summit of the iconic climb as overall leader Jonas Vingegaard held off a late attack from Tadej Pogacar.

4 min By Olympics.com
Tom Pidcock
(Picture by Michael Steele)

Tom Pidcock (INEOS Grenadiers) completed a heroic solo ride on Alpe d'Huez to claim stage 12 of road cycling's Tour de France 2022 on Thursday (14 July).

Overall leader Jonas Vingegaard held off a late attack from Tadej Pogacar to stay on top in the general standings.

Tour debutant Pidcock, who was MTB Olympic champion last year at Tokyo 2020, became the second British rider after Geraint Thomas in 2018 - and the youngest-ever stage winner - to triumph atop the legendary climb.

"That was certainly one of my best experiences in cycling, unreal," said the 22-year-old Yorkshireman, who now sits eighth in the general classification.

"When are you literally slaloming through people, flags, fists and God knows what else... you cannot experience that anywhere else other that on the Alpe d'Huez at the Tour de France."

"It's not bad that, is it? It's made my Tour de France so far. Even if something happens and I get dropped everyday, I don't care. A stage win at my first Tour, it's not bad." - Tom Pidcock

After five days in the Alps, riders are set to face a relatively flat 193km stage from Bourg D'Oisans to Saint Etienne on Friday.

READ: Everything you need to know about this year's Tour de France.

READ: Jonas Vingegaard: From fisherman to Grand Tour contender

2022 Tour de France: Stage 12 results - Thursday 14 July

  1. Tom Pidcock (INEOS Grenadiers) 4:55:24
  2. Louis Meintjes (Intermarche-Wanty-Gobert Materiaux) +00:48
  3. Chris Froome (Israel-Premier Tech) +2:06
  4. Neilson Powless (ED Education-EasyPost) +2:29
  5. Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates) +3:23

2022 Tour de France: General classification standings after stage 12 on Thursday 14 July

  1. Jonas Vingegaard (Jumbo-Visma) 46:28:46
  2. Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates) +2:22
  3. Geraint Thomas (Ineos Grenadiers) +2:26
  4. Romain Bardet (Team DSM) +2:35
  5. Adam Yates (INEOS Grenadiers) +3:44

Full rankings are available on the official Tour de France website.

Schedule and stage winners: Day-by-day route of 2022 Tour de France

Fri 1 July: Stage 1 – Copenhagen-Copenhagen (time trial, 13.2 km) - Won by Yves Lampaert (Belgium), who also took the yellow jersey for overall lead of the race's general classification.

Sat 2 July: Stage 2 – Roskilde-Nyborg (202.5 km) - Won by Fabio Jakobsen (Netherlands). Wout van Aert (Belgium) claimed overall race lead.

Sun 3 July: Stage 3 – Vejle-Sonderborg (182 km) - Won by Dylan Groenewegen (Netherlands). Wout van Aert (Belgium) retained overall race lead.

Mon 4 July: Transfer Day - from Denmark to France.

Tue 5 July: Stage 4 – Dunkerque-Calais (171.5 km) - Won by Wout van Aert (Belgium), who retained overall race lead.

Wed 6 July: Stage 5 – Lille Metropole-Arenburg Porte du Hainaut (157 km) - Won by Simon Clarke (Australia), Wout van Aert (Belgium) retained overall race lead.

Thu 7 July: Stage 6 – Binche-Longwy (220km) - Won by Tadej Pogacar (Slovenia), who took the overall race lead.

Fri 8 July: Stage 7 – Tomblaine-La Super Planche de Belles Filles (176.5 km) - Won by Tadej Pogacar (Slovenia), who increased his overall lead

Sat 9 July: Stage 8 – Dole-Lausanne (186.5km) - Won by Wout van Aert (Belgium), who increased his green jersey classification lead.

Sunday 10 July: Stage 9 – Aigle-Chatel les Portes du Soleil (193km) - Won by Bob Jungels (Luxembourg), who claimed his first Le Tour stage victory.

Monday 11 July: Rest Day

Tuesday 12 July: Stage 10 – Morzine Les Portes du Soleil-Megeve (148.5km) - Won by Magnus Cort (Denmark), Tadej Pogacar hangs on his overall lead.

Wednesday 13 July: Stage 11 – Albertville-Col du Granon Serre Chevalier (152km) - Won by Jonas Vingegaard, who claimed the yellow jersey.

Thursday 14 July: Stage 12 – Briancon-Alpe d’Huez (165.5km)

Friday 15 July: Stage 13 – Le Bourg d’Oisans-Saint Etienne (193km)

Saturday 16 July: Stage 14 – Saint Etienne-Mende (192.5km)

Sunday 17 July: Stage 15 – Rodez-Carcassonne (202.5km)

Monday 18 July: Rest Day

Tuesday 19 July: Stage 16 – Carcassonne-Foix (178,5km)

Wednesday 20 July: Stage 17 – Saint-Gaudens-Peyragudes (130km)

Thursday 21 July: Stage 18 – Lourdes-Hautacam (143.5km)

Friday 22 July: Stage 19 – Castelnau-Magnoac – Cahors (188.5km)

Saturday 23 July: Stage 20 – Lacapelle-Marival - Rocamadour (time trial, 40.7km)

Sunday 24 July: Stage 21 – Paris La Defence Arena – Paris Champs Elysees (116km)

Add these to your favourites
Cycling RoadCycling Road
More from

You May Like