Nagano 1998

Nagano 1998The Mascot



Sukki, Nokki, Lekki and Tsukki

Owls Sukki, Nokki, Lekki and Tsukki are also known as the Snowlets. “Snow” refers to the winter season, during which the Games take place, and “lets” refers to “let’s”, an invitation to join in the Games celebrations. In addition, the first two letters of the four names form the word “snowlets”. “Owlets” means young owls.


Sukki, Nokki, Lekki and Tsukki are four snowy owls. They represent, respectively, fire (Sukki), air (Nokki), earth (Lekki) and water (Tsukki). The choice of four mascots is a nod to the four years that make up an Olympiad.


Landor Associates

Did You Know?

Originally, the Nagano Games mascot was going to be a weasel called “Snowple”.

Owls are venerated around the world as having the “wisdom of the woods”; in Greek mythology, the owl is associated with Athena, the goddess of wisdom.

The four Snowlets' names were chosen from among 47,484 suggestions.

The agency responsible for creating the mascots was the same one that designed the torch for the Atlanta Games in 1996, and also took part in designing the mascots for Salt Lake City 2002.


Discover the Games

The Brand

A visual identity is developed for each edition of the Olympic Games.

The Medals

Beginning as an olive wreath, medal designs have evolved over the years.

The Mascot

An original image, it must give concrete form to the Olympic spirit.

The Torch

An iconic part of any Olympic Games, each host offers their unique version.