Two IOC Ethics Commission members put forward for re-election

Pierre-Olivier Beckers-Vieujant - Auvita Rapilla © IOC

The IOC Executive Board (EB) today proposed to the IOC Session the re-election of two members of the IOC Ethics Commission for a new four-year term, in their capacity as IOC Members:

Chaired by former UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon since 2017, the IOC Ethics Commission is composed of nine members, four of whom are IOC members. One must be an IOC Athletes’ Commission member, and the other five members are prominent personalities known for their independence of spirit, their competence and their international reputation. The full composition of the Commission can be found here.

The Chair and members of the IOC Ethics Commission are elected for a term of four years, which may be renewed no more than twice. Ban Ki-moon was re-elected by the IOC Session in Tokyo in July 2021 for a second four-year term.

Safeguarding the ethical principles of the Olympic Movement

The IOC was the first sports organisation to set up an independent Ethics Commission in 1999, in order to safeguard the ethical principles of the Olympic Movement.

The Ethics Commission has three functions:

  • It draws up and updates a framework of ethical principles, including the IOC Code of Ethics, as well as specific Implementing Provisions based on the values and principles enshrined in the Olympic Charter.
  • It examines situations involving potential non-compliance with the Code of Ethics and, where necessary, proposes sanctions to the EB and/or the Session. These recommendations remain confidential until the EB makes a decision. The decisions taken are published here..
  • When requested to do so, it delivers advice to the IOC on the implementation of the ethical principles.
back to top