Mr Ser Miang<br>NG

Mr Ser Miang

Entry in the IOC



6 April 1949


Bachelor with honours in Business Administration, University of Singapore


Chairman of TIBS International Pte Ltd (1975); President of the Automobile Association of Singapore (1988-1996); Member of the Singapore Insurance Ombudsman Bureau (1990-1996); Chairman of NTUC Choice Homes (1996-2010); Singapore Ambassador to Hungary (2000-2013) and to Norway (2001-2019); Member of Asian Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) Business Advisory Council (2001-2008); nominated Member of Parliament (2002-2005); Chairman of NTUC FairPrice (2005-2014); Justice of Peace (2005-); Director of Singapore Press Holdings (2007-2016); Chairman of Rowsley Ltd (2015-); Thomson, Medical Group (2015-)

Sports practised

Sailing, scuba diving, golf, alpine skiing, tennis, tai-chi, swimming, yoga

Sports career

Participated in various international, continental and regional sailing races

Sports administration

Vice-President of International Optimist Dinghy Association (1989-1994); Vice-President of the Singapore National Olympic Council and Chairman of the Finance Commission (1990-); Chairman of the Singapore Sports Council (1991-2002); Vice-President of the Organising Committee and Chairman of the Finance Commission for the 17th Southeast Asian Games in Singapore (1993); Vice-President of the International Sailing Federation (ISAF) (1994-1998); Chairman of the Board of Governors of the Singapore Olympic Academy (1994-); President of Asian Yachting Federation (1995-1997); President of the Organising Committee of the 117th IOC Session in Singapore (2005); Chairman of the Advisory Committee of the Olympic Council of Asia (OCA) (2007-); President of the Singapore 2010 Youth Olympic Games Organising Committee (2007-2010) and Chairman of the 1st Asian Youth Games Steering Committee (2009); Chairman of the inaugural Olympic Esports Week Steering Committee (2023)

Awards and distinctions

Outstanding Chief Executive Award (Singapore Business Awards) (1992); National Trades Union Congress (NTUC) May Day Award – Medal of Commendation (1993); Singapore Schools Sports Councils “Friends of the Councils” Award (1994); IOC Centennial Olympic Games Trophy (1996); ISAF Gold Medal (1998); Public Service Star by the Singapore Government (1999); NTUC Friend of Labour Award (2001); NTUC Meritorious Service Award (2007); OCA’s Award of Merit (2009); Meritorious Service Medal by the Singapore Government (2010)

IOC History

Member of the Executive Board (2005-2009 then 2016-); IOC Vice- President (2009-2013 and 2020- ); Chairman of the Finance Commission (2014-); Chair of the Human Resources Committee (2019-); Member of the following Commissions: Olympic Solidarity (2000-2001), Coordination for the Games of the XXIX Olympiad in 2008 in Beijing (2002-2008), Evaluation for the Games of the XXX Olympiad in 2012 (2004-2005), Coordination for the Games of the XXX Olympiad in 2012 in London (2005-2012), Finance (2006-2014), Audit Committee (2006-2014); IOC Staff Pension Fund Board (2006-2014); ,Coordination for the XXIV Olympic Winter Games Beijing 2022 (2018-2020); IOC Television and Marketing Services (2018-), Olympic Channel Services S.A. (Switzerland ) (2018-), Coordination of the Games of the XXXIV Olympiad Los Angeles 2028 (2019-), Member of the Editorial Committee of the 2009 Olympic Congress (2007-2009); Chairman of the 123rd IOC Session,125th, 128th, 131st, 134th, 141st and 143rd  IOC Session Evaluation Commissions; Chairman of the IOC Staff Pension Fund Board (2014-)