Tennis at Tokyo 2020: Watch Sania Mirza in her fourth Olympics and debutants Ankita Raina, Sumit Nagal live

India will compete in women’s doubles and men’s singles at Tokyo. Watch Olympics tennis live!

By Abhishek Purohit
Picture by Getty Images

India will have three participants in tennis at the Tokyo Olympics: Sania Mirza and Ankita Raina in women’s doubles and Sumit Nagal in men’s singles. The tennis event will be played on the hardcourts of the Ariake Tennis Park in Tokyo.

Rohan Bopanna and Divij Sharan could not qualify in men’s doubles, and India will also not be having a pair in the mixed doubles category.

Sania Mirza, a six-time Grand Slam winner, qualified for Tokyo courtesy her world No. 9 women's doubles protected ranking, granted because of her extended layoff from tennis owing to pregnancy and injuries.

As per rules, Sania Mirza can choose any Indian partner ranked inside the top 300 as her partner at Tokyo. Ankita Raina, ranked 95th in doubles and 183rd in singles, was picked.

While Tokyo will be Sania Mirza's fourth Olympics, it will be Ankita Raina's first at the Summer Games.

Sania made the second round of women’s doubles at Wimbledon recently and the third round in mixed doubles. Sania and Bopanna had beaten another Indian pair, Ramkumar Ramanathan and Raina, in the first round of the Wimbledon mixed doubles.

Sania Mirza and Ankita Raina, 28, have previously played together as a doubles team in the Billie Jean King Cup (formerly called the Fed Cup).

The 34-year-old Sania Mirza came close to winning a medal at Rio 2016 but lost the mixed doubles bronze playoff match with partner Rohan Bopanna.

Sumit Nagal, meanwhile, qualified for his maiden Olympics after a spate of withdrawals. The world No. 144 is known for having taken a set off Roger Federer in the first round of the 2019 US Open. The 23-year-old is currently No. 160 in men’s singles in the ATP rankings.

Roger Federer will be among several big names in world tennis not taking part in the Tokyo Olympics, along with Rafael Nadal, Serena Williams, Dominic Thiem, Simona Halep and Sofia Kenin.

However, the top men’s and women’s singles players, Novak Djokovic and Ashleigh Barty, will be seen in action in Tokyo.

The tennis draw for the Tokyo Olympics will take place on July 22.

India tennis contingent for Tokyo Olympics

Women’s doubles: Sania Mirza, Ankita Raina

Men’s singles: Sumit Nagal

Tokyo 2020 Olympics tennis schedule for Indian players and live India start times

All times are in India Standard Time (IST)

24 July, Saturday

Women's doubles, round 1

Men’s singles, round 1

25 July, Sunday

Women's doubles, round 1

Men’s singles, round 1

26 July, Monday

Women's doubles, round 2

Men’s singles, round 2

27 July, Tuesday

Women's doubles, quarter-finals

Men’s singles, round 2

28 July, Wednesday

Women's doubles, quarter-finals

Men’s singles, round 3

29 July, Thursday

Women's doubles, semi-finals

Men’s singles, quarter-finals

30 July, Friday

Men’s singles, semi-finals

31 July, Saturday

Men’s singles, bronze medal match

Women's doubles, bronze medal match

1 August, Sunday

Men’s singles, final

Women's doubles, final

Where to watch Tokyo Olympics tennis live in India?

Fans can watch live telecast of the Tokyo Olympics tennis tournament on the Sony TEN 2, Sony TEN 2 HD, Sony Six and Sony SIX HD TV channels in India. Sony TEN 3, Sony TEN 3 HD, Sony TEN 4 and Sony TEN 4 HD will broadcast Tokyo 2020 in regional languages.

Live streaming of the Tokyo Olympics will be available on Sony Liv.

_Live broadcast subject to Sony.