Brisa Hennessy makes WSL Final 5 as Miguel Pupo and Courtney Conlogue win Tahiti Pro

Costa Rica's Hennessy wins a direct head-to-head matchup against Lakey Peterson in the quarter-finals to seal her spot at the season-ending WSL Finals next month.

By ZK Goh
Picture by 2022 World Surf League

The World Surf League Final 5 field is now set on both the men's and women's sides after Brisa Hennessy won a direct head-to-head against Lakey Peterson to take the fifth and last spot at the season-ending WSL Finals next month.

Costa Rica's Hennessy triumphed in the quarter-finals of the WSL Outerknown Tahiti Pro, held on the historic and famous Teahupo‘o wave which will also be the site of surfing at the next Olympic Games Paris 2024, over Peterson 10.10–8.14.

USA's Peterson was the only woman who could have overhauled her in the Championship Tour Rankings. Hennessey's win sealed her top-five finish on the rankings and her place at next month's Final 5 competition at Lower Trestles in California where the 2022 world champion will be crowned.

READ MORE: Top facts about the Olympic surfing venue at Teahupo‘o, Tahiti

2022 Tahiti Pro 

Hennessy made it all the way through to the final, coming up against Courtney Conlogue who would not be beaten.

It was a fitting way to mark the return of women's professional surfing to Teahupo‘o for the first time in 16 years, as the American overcame a sudden wind change to triumph and clinch her first WSL event win since 2019. Her score of 11.67 far outscored Hennessy's 5.20 as Conlogue surfed with confidence and power in the demanding barrels.

Meanwhile, the men's final was won by Brazil's Miguel Pupo, claiming his first career WSL Championship Tour event victory.

The sole remaining event on this year's calendar is the Rip Curl WSL Finals, at Lower Trestles. The one day competition will take place between 8-16 September. The top five surfers from this season's Championship Tour Rankings will compete for the 2022 crown.

They are: Felipe Toledo and Carissa Moore as the top seeds; Jack Robinson and Johanne Defay as the second seeds; Ethan Ewing and Tatiana Weston-Webb as the third seeds; Italo Ferreira and Hennessy as the fourth seeds; and Kanoa Igarashi and Stephanie Gilmore as the fifth seeds.


Surfing’s road to Paris 2024 starts now. Watch the world’s best surfers compete in the ISA World Surfing Games from 16-22 September!
Sign up and get live streams, highlights, news and more – directly in your inbox.