IPL 2020, Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings: Where to get live streaming in India

The final fixture from last year, MI vs CSK will set the ball rolling on Saturday for the new Indian Premier League 2020 season. Watch live.

By Utathya Nag

Indian Premier League 2020 gets underway in the United Arab Emirates from Saturday with a clash of the titans in the Twenty20 cricket extravaganza.

Four-time champions Mumbai Indians (MI) will take on three-time winners Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in the IPL 2020 opener in Abu Dhabi. Indian cricket fans can watch live action on TV and live streaming online.

Rohit Sharma's MI, the reigning champions, are the most successful side in IPL history, having won the title in 2013, 2015, 2017 and 2019. Last year, they beat CSK in the final.

Rohit Sharma’s MI and MS Dhoni’s CSK lock horns in the first match of the IPL 2020.

CSK are three-time champions, having won the IPL trophy in 2010, 2011 and 2018 under the captaincy of MS Dhoni.

Despite all their success in the competition, MI have never won successive trophies - something Rohit Sharma and Co will look to change this season.

Already boasting T20 stalwarts like captain Rohit Sharma, opener Quinton de Kock, all-rounder Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah - arguably the best limited overs bowler in the world currently, MI is quite formidable.

Having added the likes of Australian dynamo Chris Lynn and Kiwi speedster Trent Boult to their ranks this year, the Mahela Jayawardene-coached side has only strengthened it's credentials.

Lynn's arrival does provide MI with a slight dilemma about the opening pairing. While Sharma and De Kock had struck up a splendid opening partnership in the past, the Australian heavy-hitter does provide the opportunity to try out some explosive permutations up top.

However, with all three players equally adept at batting at No. 3, it'd only mean more options for the team.

MS Dhoni’s CSK look to avenge 2019 IPL final loss

With veteran India batsman Suresh Raina and former Indian cricket team spinner Harbhajan Singh opting to pull out of the IPL due to personal reasons at the last moment, CSK will head into IPL 2020 with a somewhat dented squad.

But the Dhoni-led CSK have rarely failed to perform on the big stage and will be backing themselves to put together a good run this year, preferably kicking it all off with a win over the champions in the season opener.

A victory in the contest will also be a sweet revenge for CSK's agonising final loss at the hands of MI last year – a thriller they lost by just a single run.

The blockbuster tie, however, will only mark the beginning of a two-month-long non-stop cricketing feast for fans with matches scheduled back-to-back.

Over the weekend and the following weeks cricket fans can look forward to watching their favourite IPL teams in live action on TV and online.

In search of their maiden IPL title, Virat Kohli’s Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) start their IPL campaign against Sunrisers Hyderabad on Monday.

Two-time champions Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), meanwhile, will be in action against MI on Wednesday for their IPL 2020 campaign opener.

IPL 2020 schedule, fixtures and live start times

All times are in Indian Standard Time (IST)

Saturday, September 19

Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings, 7.30 PM IST

Sunday, September 20

Delhi Capitals vs Kings XI Punjab, 7.30 PM IST

Monday, September 21

Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Royal Challengers Bangalore, 7.30 pm IST

Tuesday, September 22

Rajasthan Royals vs Chennai Super Kings, 7.30 PM IST

Wednesday, September 23

Kolkata Knight Riders vs Mumbai Indians, 7.30 PM IST

Thursday, September 24

Kings XI Punjab vs Royal Challengers Bangalore, 7.30 PM IST

Friday, September 25

Chennai Super Kings vs Delhi Capitals, 7.30 PM IST

Saturday, September 26

Kolkata Knight Riders vs Sunrisers Hyderabad, 7.30 PM IST

Sunday, September 27

Rajasthan Royals vs Kings XI Punjab, 7.30 PM IST

Where to watch IPL 2020 live in India

IPL 2020 will be broadcast on the Star Sports network in India. Fans can watch the matches on Star Sports 1, Star Sports 1 HD, Star Sports 2, Star Sports 2 HD, Star Sports 1 Hindi and Star Sports 1 Hindi HD TV channels.

Live streaming of IPL 2020 will be on the Disney+ Hotstar – Star’s digital OTT platform.