FIFA World Cup 2022: Brazil, Germany, England among confirmed teams for Qatar

A total of 32 teams have qualified for the 2022 football World Cup, which starts in November.

By Aarish Ansari
Picture by 2021 Getty Images

The FIFA World Cup 2022 is set to be hosted in Qatar in November this year.

Over 200 countries from across the world attempted to qualify in the quadrennial football event but only 32 teams, including hosts Qatar, made the cut the 2022 football World Cup.

Here, we look at all the teams that will be a part of the FIFA World Cup 2022, which starts from November 21, 2022.

How many teams have qualified for World Cup 2022?

A total of 32 teams have qualified for the FIFA World Cup 2022, with Qatar earning automatic qualification, courtesy of being the hosts.

Five-time champions Brazil were the first team from South America to qualify for the event, while Germany were the first European nation to confirm their spot for the Qatar World Cup.

Brazil, who last won the FIFA World Cup in 2002, advanced through the CONMEBOL’s qualification tournament, which includes nine other teams. The Selecao have featured in every World Cup to date.

Lionel Messi’s Argentina, who won the Copa America last year, have also made it through.

Meanwhile, in Europe, Denmark, France, Belgium, Croatia, England, Spain, Serbia, Switzerland and Wales are the teams that will be joining Germany at the World Cup after topping their respective groups in the first round of qualifiers.

However, Cristiano Ronaldo’s Portugal missed the direct spot after being stunned by Serbia in the final group match but qualified for the FIFA World Cup 2022 through the playoffs. Four-time champions Italy, though, failed to qualify after losing to North Macedonia in their playoff semi-finals.

In all, 13 teams from Europe qualified for the FIFA World Cup 2022.

On the other hand, six teams from Asia, five from Africa, four each from North America and South America made it to the FIFA World Cup 2022 in Qatar. No team made it from the Oceania region.

Wales qualified for the World Cup for the first time in 64 years after they defeated Ukraine 1-0 in the the intercontinental playoffs. Costa Rica booked the last spot after they beat New Zealand in June.

FIFA World Cup 2022 teams

FIFA World Cup 2022 qualified teams: By region
Team Region
Qatar Asia
Iran Asia
South Korea Asia
Saudi Arabia Asia
Japan Asia
Australia Asia
Germany Europe
Denmark Europe
France Europe
Belgium Europe
Croatia Europe
Spain Europe
Serbia Europe
England Europe
Netherlands Europe
Switzerland Europe
Portugal Europe
Poland Europe
Wales Europe
Brazil South America
Argentina South America
Ecuador South America
Uruguay South America
Ghana Africa
Senegal Africa
Tunisia Africa
Morocco Africa
Cameroon Africa
Canada North America
USA North America
Mexico North America
Costa Rica North America


Free live sport events. Unlimited access to series. Unrivalled Olympic news & highlights.