Badminton BWF World Championships 2022: Day 1 preview, order of play, how to watch - Monday 22 August

Discover the key highlights to watch for on day one of the badminton BWF World Championships on Monday 22 August 2022.

Picture by Jabatan Penerangan Malaysia

The 27th BWF World Championships in badminton are upon us.

Barely eight months after the last world champions were crowned, the 2022 World Championships are set to go in Tokyo, Japan. Over 350 players from 47 countries are due to compete in the Japanese capital in five events: men's singles, women's singles, men's doubles, women's doubles, and mixed doubles.

On Monday (22 August 2022), competition gets underway with every round-of-64 match in men's singles, as well as some round-of-48 clashes in the other four events. In all events except the men's singles, the top seeds have received byes to the second round.

Defending men's champion Loh Kean Yew, Olympic champion Viktor Axelsen, Indonesia's Anthony Ginting, and Chinese Taipei's Chou Tien-chen are among the top men's names in action on the main court on Monday.

On Court 2, Jonatan Christie and Lee Zii Jia will be in action, while China's Shi Yuqi is also back after a national team suspension and will play on Court 4.

Men's round-of-32 matches will take place across two days on Tuesday and Wednesday, with the winners from Monday's action progressing.

Day 1 order of play – BWF World Championships 2022 – Monday 22 August

Selected matches listed below. The full order of play for all 62 matches across the four courts can be found here.

Legend: MS – men's singles; WS – women's singles; MD – men's doubles; WD – women's doubles; XD – mixed doubles

Court 1:

  • Match 1, 9am session: WD – Aminath Nabeeha Abdul Razzaq / Fathimath Nabaaha Abdul Razzaq (MDV) vs Ashwini Poppana / N. Sikki Reddy (IND)
  • Match 2, 9am session: MS – Anthony Sinisuka Ginting (INA) vs Ygor Coelho (BRA)
  • Match 4, 9am session: MS – Chou Tien-chen (TPE) vs B. Sai Praneeth (IND)
  • Match 6, not before 11am: MS – Viktor Axelsen (DEN) vs Liew Daren (MAS)
  • Match 9, not before 11am: MS – Hans-Kristian Solbeg Vittinghus (DEN) vs Lakshya Sen (IND)
  • Match 10, not before 2pm: MS – Nishimoto Kenta (JPN) vs Anders Antonsen (DEN)
  • Match 12, not before 2pm: MS – Lino Muñoz (MEX) vs Momota Kento (JPN)
  • Match 15, Court & Time TBA: MS – Pablo Abian (ESP) vs Loh Kean Yew (SGP)

Court 2:

  • Match 1, 9am session: MS – Chico Aura Dwi Wardoyo (INA) vs Ng Tze Yong (MAS)
  • Match 4, 9am session: WS – Kirsty Gilmour (SCO) vs Gregoria Mariska Tunjung (INA)
  • Match 5, not before 11am: MS – Jonatan Christie (INA) vs Toma Junior Popov (FRA)
  • Match 8, not before 11am: MS – Tommy Sugiarto (INA) vs Kunlavut Vitidsarn (THA)
  • Match 9, not before 11am: MS – Heo Kwang Hee (INA) vs Ng Ka Long Angus (HKG)
  • Match 11, not before 2pm: MS – Brice Leverdez (FRA) vs Lee Zii Jia (MAS)
  • Match 12, not before 2pm: MD – Christo Popov / Toma Junior Popov (FRA) vs Hee Yong Kai Terry / Loh Kean Hean (SGP)
  • Match 13, Court & Time TBA: MS – Luka Wraber (AUT) vs H.S. Prannoy (IND)
  • Match 15, Court & Time TBA: MS – Nhat Nguyen (IRL) vs Kidambi Srikanth (IND)

Court 3:

  • Match 1, 9:15am session: MS – Tsuneyama Kanta (JPN) vs Sitthikorn Thammasin (THA)
  • Match 5, not before 11am: MS – Rasmus Gemke (DEN) vs Kalle Koljonen (FIN)
  • Match 6, not before 11am: WS – Malvika Bansod (IND) vs Line Christophersen (DEN)

Court 4:

  • Match 6, not before 11am: MS – Shi Yuqi (CHN) vs Ade Resky Dwicahyo (AZE)
  • Match 11, not before 2pm: MS – Niluka Karunaratne (SRI) vs Kevin Cordón (GUA)

How to watch the action at the BWF World Championships 2022

The tournament will be broadcast by various television and digital live streaming rights holders across the different countries and territories around the world.


  • Bosnia-Herzegovina, Croatia, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Serbia, Slovenia: ArenaSport
  • Czech Republic: Ceska televise
  • Denmark: TV2
  • France: La Chaine L'Équipe
  • Germany: SportDeutschland.TV
  • Hungary: MTVA
  • Netherlands: Ziggo Sport
  • Poland: Polsat Sport
  • Slovakia: JOJ Sport
  • United Kingdom, Ireland: BT Sport


  • Brunei: KristalAstro
  • China: BesTV, YouSports,, Youku, CCTV, CNTV
  • Chinese Taipei: ELTA
  • Hong Kong China, Mongolia, Philippines, Singapore: SPOTV via cable providers (and, in Hong Kong China and Singapore, SPOTVNOW)
  • India: Viacom18, Sports18, Voot Select
  • Indonesia: SPOTV via cable providers, MNCTV, Telkom Indonesia, SPOTVNOW
  • Japan: TV Asahi, J Sports (delayed coverage only on J Sports)
  • Korea: SPOTV
  • Macau China: TDM, SPOTV via cable providers
  • Malaysia: Astro, RTM
  • Maldives: Medianet
  • Thailand: True Sport, SPOTV via cable providers, SPOTVNOW

Other regions

  • Central America, South America, and the Caribbean: STAR+
  • South Africa: StarTimes
  • The Championships are also live on the YouTube channel in selected territories not listed above. They will also be available to stream on Olympic Channel via, territorial restrictions may apply.

If you are unable to find a screen, be sure to follow our live blog on and follow @olympics on social media to stay abreast of all the results and news from the Badminton World Championships 2022.


Free live sport events. Unlimited access to series. Unrivalled Olympic news & highlights.