Allyson Felix helps USA to 4x400m gold, goes to record 11 medals

Felix is now the most decorated women, and most decorated American, in track and field athletics history at the Olympics.

Picture by 2021 Getty Images

Allyson Felix made more history at Tokyo 2020 as the USA took gold in the women's 4x400m relay on Saturday (7 August).

The 35-year-old ran the second leg alongside Olympic 400m hurdles champions Sydney McLaughlin and Dalilah Muhammad, and Tokyo 800m gold medallist Athing Mu.

That was her fourth consecutive gold in the 4x400m relay and took her clear of Carl Lewis (10) as the American with the most Olympic athletics medals.

Felix had already become the most decorated female track and field athlete in Olympic history, breaking a tie with Jamaica's Merlene Ottey, with her bronze in the individual 400m on Friday.

Running in the outside lane, the 35-year-old held off old rival Stephenie Ann McPherson of Jamaica to make the podium as Shaunae Miller-Uibo retained her title in style.

Miller-Uibo, who needed a desperate dive to deny Felix in the Rio 2016 final, ran a lifetime best of 48.36 to take gold ahead of Marileidy Paulino of the Dominican Republic.

That was Felix's first bronze medal having won six golds and three silvers in her four previous Games.

She made her debut at Athens 2004 where she won 200m silver behind Veronica Campbell.

Six of Felix's seven golds have come in relays, with her sole individual gold coming in the 200m at London 2012.

Allyson Felix schedule at Tokyo 2020 in 2021 in athletics

Individual 400 metres

Tuesday 3 August - Round 1 Heat 3 - 10:01 JST local time (01:01 UTC, 18:01 Monday in California)

Result: Felix dominates, wins in 50.48.

Wednesday 4 August - Semi-finals - 19:30 JST local time (10:30 UTC, 03:30 Tuesday in California)

Result: Felix runs season's best 49.89 to go through to the final in second place.

Friday 6 August - Final - 21:35 JST local time (12:35 UTC, 05:35 in California)

Result: Felix takes bronze in a season's best 49.46 behind Shaunae Miller-Uibo and Marileidy Paulino.

Women's 4x400m relay

Thursday 5 August - Round 1 - 19:25 JST local time (10:25 UTC, 03:25 in California)

Result: Without Felix, USA clock the fastest time in the heats to qualify for the final.

Saturday 7 August - Final - 21:30 JST local time (12:30 UTC, 05:30 in California)

Result: Felix runs the second leg as USA take gold in 3:16.85.

GO OLYMPIC. GET ALL THIS.

Free live sport events. Unlimited access to series. Unrivalled Olympic news & highlights.
Sign up here Sign up here