Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2022 hockey back after two years; India, Australia in fray 

Sultan Azlan Shah Cup was scrapped twice due to the COVID pandemic. Traditional venue Ipoh in Malaysia will host the 2022 edition from November 16-25.

By Ali Asgar Nalwala
Picture by Getty Images

After being cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic in the past two years, Malaysia's premier men’s hockey tournament, the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2022 will be held from November 16 to 25 in Ipoh.

The Sultan Azlan Shah Cup has been part of the International Hockey Federation’s (FIH) calendar every year since 2003. The invitational tournament is named after Malaysia’s former FIH executive board member Sultan Azlan Shah.

ओलम्पिक और खेल खबरे हिन्दी में: यहां क्लिक करें

Commonwealth Games 2022 gold medallists Australia and the silver-winning Indian team, Germany, New Zealand and Canada are the five teams invited to play along with hosts Malaysia this year. 

World No. 1 Australia are also the most successful team at the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup with 10 titles followed by India with five. Pakistan and South Korea have lifted the trophy thrice each.

At the last edition in 2019, India lost the final to South Korea 4-2 in the shoot-out after being held to a 1-1 draw in regulation time. Indian forward Mandeep Singh, with seven goals, was the joint top scorer at the tournament with South Korea’s Jang Jong-hyun. India's Surender Kumar was declared the player of the tournament.

All matches will be played at the Azlan Shah Stadium in the city of Ipoh in Malaysia, which is the permanent venue of the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup.

The Sultan Azlan Shah Cup was first played in 1983. It became an annual event in 2003.


Free live sport events. Unlimited access to series. Unrivalled Olympic news & highlights.