Three members elected to IOC Ethics Commission

06 Feb 2018

During the 132nd International Olympic Committee (IOC) Session in PyeongChang, three days before the beginning of the Olympic Winter Games, three members were elected and re-elected to the Ethics Commission.

Olympian Danka Bartekova was elected as an athlete representative for a two-year term until the Olympic Games Tokyo 2020. Auvita Rapilla was elected and Pierre-Olivier Beckers re-elected, both for a four-year term.

IOC/Greg Martin

Following his election to the IOC Executive Board and, to avoid any risk of conflict of interests, Robin Mitchell resigned from his position on the Ethics Commission. Furthermore, the term of IOC Athletes’ Commission member Yang Yang will end at the close of the Olympic Winter Games PyeongChang 2018.

Previously elected members still on the Commission are: Patricia O’Brien (Ambassador of the Republic of Ireland in France); Geert Corstens (former President of the Supreme Court of The Netherlands); Samuel Schmid (lawyer and former President of the Swiss Confederation); Hanqin Xue, People’s Republic of China, (judge at the International Court of Justice); and IOC Member Angela Ruggiero.

IOC/Greg Martin

Composed of nine members, the Commission is independent and includes: four IOC members, be they active, honorary, honour or former, including a representative of the IOC Athletes’ Commission member; and five personalities, independent members, who are not active, honorary, honour or former IOC Members and who have no direct link to the sports movement. The Chair of the IOC Ethics Commission is one of the personalities who are not IOC Members.

The IOC was the first sports organisation to set up an independent Ethics Commission in 1999 in order to safeguard the ethical principles of the Olympic Movement. These principles are set out in the Code of Ethics and its Implementing Provisions.

For more information on the Ethics Commission and its role, visit:

back to top