Six candidates to run for IOC presidency

07 Jun 2013
IOC News Press Release

Six candidates will compete in the election for the presidency of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) at the 125th IOC Session on 10 September 2013 in Buenos Aires.

The six – Thomas Bach, Sergey Bubka, Richard Carrión, Ser Miang Ng, Denis Oswald, and Ching-Kuo Wu – officially announced their candidacies by the deadline of midnight on 6 June.

The candidates will present their programmes, in camera, to the full IOC membership on the occasion of the Extraordinary IOC Session in Lausanne on 3 and 4 July 2013. 


For more information, please contact the IOC Media Relations Team:
Tel: +41 21 621 6000, email:, or visit our website at




For an extensive selection of photos available shortly after each event, please follow us on Flickr.
To request archive photos and footage, please contact our Images team at:

Social media

For up-to-the-minute information on the IOC and regular updates, please follow us on Twitter, Facebook and YouTube.

back to top