Second IOC Coordination Commission visit gets underway in PyeongChang

The second visit of the International Olympic Committee (IOC)’s Coordination Commission to the 2018 Olympic Winter Games host city of PyeongChang got underway today. The visit will last for two days (18-19 June) and will be led by the Chair of the IOC’s Commission, Gunilla Lindberg.

The meeting will also be attended by representatives of the PyeongChang 2018 Organising Committee (POCOG), the Korean Olympic Committee, and the local governmental authorities.


The two days of meetings will allow the Commission to review POCOG’s progress since their last meeting in 2012. Updates will be given on areas as diverse as workforce, sport, venues, marketing, communications, education and technology to name but a few. These updates offer the opportunity to POCOG not just to present their achievements, but also to gain guidance and insight from the members of the Commission, which includes representatives of the athletes, International Federations, National Olympic Committees, IOC members and the International Paralympic Committee.

The Coordination Commission

The IOC, as the guardian of the Olympic Games, assists and monitors the work of the Organising Committee for the Olympic Games through the work of the Coordination Commission. The Commission visits the host city once a year until four years from the Games, when the visits become twice yearly until the Games are held. The Commission’s full meetings are supplemented by the regular visits of smaller IOC teams involving the Commission Chairman, selected members of the Commission and members of the IOC administration.

PyeongChang 2018

PyeongChang was elected as the host city for the XXIII Olympic Winter Games at the 123rd IOC Session in Durban, South Africa on 6 July 2011. PyeongChang won the vote against the cities of Annecy (France) and Munich (Germany). PyeongChang defeated Munich and Annecy in the first round of voting, by 63 votes to 25 and 7 respectively. The PyeongChang 2018 Olympic Winter Games will play host to the seven Olympic Winter sports currently on the Olympic programme and will run from 9 to 25 February 2018.

back to top