Results of the IOC Athletes’ Commission Election

24 Feb 2010
IOC News

Adam Pengilly from Great Britain (bobsleigh) and Angela Marie Ruggiero from the USA (ice hockey) have been elected to the Athletes’ Commission of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) by their peers at the Vancouver 2010 Olympic Games for a term of eight years. During this period, they will also serve as IOC members, bringing the athletes' voice right to the heart of the Olympic Movement. The announcement was made today at Vancouver’s Olympic Village by Anita L. DeFrantz, Chairwoman of the Election Committee and IOC member. The election was held over the past 19 days in the Olympic Villages in Vancouver and in Whistler.

Adam Pengilly was elected with 615 votes, followed by Angela Marie Ruggiero with 605 votes. The two new members will replace Pernilla Wiberg and Manuela Di Centa, who were elected to the Athletes’ Commission at the Games in Salt Lake City in 2002, and have come to the end of their term of office. Pengilly and Ruggiero will be officially introduced at the Closing Ceremony of the Vancouver 2010 Olympic Winter Games on 28 February.

Eligibility and Voting Criteria

Some 1,965 athletes – 75.3 per cent of all eligible voters - chose from among nine candidates from as many countries. The votes had to be cast for two different athletes from two different sports. All the candidate athletes had to be presented by their National Olympic Committee, which was required to have a properly formed Athletes’ Commission that selected the candidate. In order to be eligible, the candidates had to be 18 years or older on 24 February 2010, have participated either in the Olympic Games in Turin in 2006 or in Vancouver in 2010, and have never been found guilty of a doping offence during their sports career. 

Athletes in the Centre

Following the announcement, Anita DeFrantz stated: "The athletes are at the centre of everything we do, and the Commission ensures that their voice is heard in all important decisions taken by the IOC. The two new members can make a valuable contribution to the work of this important body." 

Background Information

The IOC Athletes’ Commission was created in 1981 and serves as the voice of the active athletes within the Olympic Movement. It is composed of 19 members, of whom there are eight summer sports athletes elected by their peers at the Games of the Olympiad; four winter sports athletes elected by their peers at the Olympic Winter Games; and up to seven athletes appointed by the IOC President to ensure a balance in terms of gender, sport and region. In addition, a World Olympians Association (WOA) representative and an International Paralympic Committee (IPC) representative are also part of the Commission, which is currently chaired by well-known Namibian sprinter Frank Fredericks, also a member of the IOC Executive Board.

The IOC Athletes’ Commission members are involved in many activities within the Olympic Movement, such as the evaluation process of candidate cities seeking to host the Olympic Games, the review of the sports programme for the Games, and the fight against doping. The Commission makes recommendations to the IOC’s main commissions and working groups and also works in liaison with the athletes’ commissions of the National Olympic Committees (NOCs) and International Federations (IFs).

Biographies of all the candidates can be found here

Learn more about the IOC Athletes’ Commission here

# # #

For more information, please contact the IOC Communications Department in Vancouver:
Emmanuelle Moreau – Head of Media Relations - +1 604 404-2552
Andrew Mitchell – Media Relations Manager - +1 604 404-2554
Nimtaz Noordin – Media Relations Coordinator - +1 604 404-2553

e-mail:, or visit our web site at


Broadcast-quality videos can be accessed and downloaded for free: click here
Login: IOC
Password: MEDIA2009


For an extensive selection of photos available shortly after each event, please follow us on
To request archive photos and footage, please contact our Images team at:

Social media

For up-to-the-minute information on the IOC and regular updates, please follow us on
Twitter and Facebook

back to top