Curtain comes down on 123rd IOC Session

09 Jul 2011
IOC News

The 123rd IOC Session came to a close today with the election of three new members and the return of Gunilla Lindberg to the IOC Executive Board (EB).


Lindberg was elected to the EB to replace Gerhard Heiberg, who had reached the end of his term on the EB. Lindberg has been an IOC member since 1996 and most recently chaired the Evaluation Commission for the 2018 Olympic Winter Games, which were awarded to PyeongChang on 6 July. This will be her second stint on the EB, after she previously served on the Board from 2000 to 2004.

The Session also re-elected Sir Philip Craven as an IOC member for a period of eight years, and elected three new IOC members: José Perurena López (Spain) from the International Canoe Federation, individual member Gerardo Werthein (Argentina) and active athlete Barbara Kendall (New Zealand).

Six current members who end their terms of office at the end of 2011 were granted Honorary Member status as of 1 January 2012. Those members are: Phillip Walter Coles, Chiharu Igaya, Shun-ichiro Okano, Arne Ljungqvist, Antun Vrdoljak and Lassana Palenfo.

Olympic Order

The IOC awarded the Olympic Order to Fernando Lima Bello and Kip Keino for services rendered to the Olympic Movement.

“It is a great honour to receive this award, especially because I have loved the Olympic Games since I was a child,” Mr Bello said.

Olympic Cup

The Olympic Cup was awarded to the South African Olympic Committee and the people of Durban.  

Netherlands Antilles

As a consequence of the formal dissolution of the Netherlands Antilles on 10 October 2010 and the new institutional and constitutional structure within the Kingdom of the Netherlands, and in line with the Olympic Charter, the IOC Session on 8 July ratified the decision proposed by the IOC EB earlier this year.

It  thus decided to withdraw IOC recognition from the NOC of the Netherlands Antilles and approve a number of accompanying measures aimed essentially at preserving as much as possible the interests of the athletes, particularly with regard to the London 2012 Olympic Games.  

The athletes from the five islands that made up the former Netherlands Antilles who would be eligible for the London 2012 Olympic Games will have the possibility to qualify for and take part in the London 2012 Olympic Games as independent athletes under the Olympic flag. To achieve this, a temporary administrative structure (put in place by the former Netherlands Antilles NOC) will operate as a technical entity until the end of the London 2012 Olympic Games under the IOC’s supervision and with the IOC’s support.


The IOC Session also granted full IOC recognition to the International Floorball Federation (IFF) on 8 July. Based in Helsinki and established in 1986, the IFF is composed of 52 national member associations on five continents, with a total 280,000 licensed players.

back to top