ATHENS 2004: 12 water polo teams qualified

11 Feb 2004
IOC News

The 12 teams that are competing in the men’s water polo tournament at the Games of the XXVIII Olympiad in Athens are now known. They are: Australia, Croatia, Egypt, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Kazakhstan, Russia, Serbia & Montenegro, Spain and the USA. The draw for the Olympic tournament will be held on 20 February 2004 in Athens.

Women's qualifying tournament in Italy
The women’s water polo qualification tournament will be held in Imperia (Italy) between 23 and 29 February. The draw for the Olympic tournament will be held on the last day of this tournament.

A single venue for all aquatics events
For the first time in Olympic Games history, all aquatics events will take place in a single venue, the Olympic Aquatic Centre of the Athens Olympic Sports Complex (OCO). The Aquatics programme spans all 16 days of the Games (14 to 29 August 2004). Swimming starts off the aquatics programme followed by diving, water polo and synchronised swimming.

Olympic Aquatic Centre
The Centre consists of two outdoor swimming pools (one with a capacity of 11,000 seats, the other with a capacity of 5,000 seats) and one indoor pool of 6,500 seats. The swimming and water polo events will be held at the main outdoor pool. The synchronised swimming will take place in the second outdoor pool. The indoor pool will host the diving and some other water polo events.

Since 1900 for men and 2000 for women
Water polo for men was included in the Olympic programme at the 1900 Olympic Games, while women’s water polo became part of the programme for the first time at the Sydney Games in 2000.

Learn more on Water polo

Official website of the International Swiming Federation

Official website of Athens 2004
back to top