Entry in the IOC 1994
Born 09 December 1942




Naval College, Mevo'ot Yam, Michmoret (Israel)


Journalist (1964); TV sports commentator (1968); TV head of sports (1975); TV special operations (1977); Vice President (1981-1996) then Senior Vice-President (1996-) of NBC Sports; Founder, President and CEO, Keshet Broadcasting Ltd., a franchise of the commercial television in Israel (1993-1999), President of Keshet Broadcasting (2005-)

Sports practised

Basketball, football (second and third division level)

Sports administration

Chairman, International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) Television Commission (1985-2008), after retirement was honoured to become Honorary Chairman for life (2008-); Chairman of the International Basketball Federation (FIBA) TV Council (2004-2019)

Awards and distinctions

Seven Academy Awards (Emmy) for Olympic Games in Barcelona (1992), Atlanta (1996), Sydney (2000), Salt Lake City (2002), Athens (2004), Beijing (2008), London (2012); Award for the best journalistic story with the subject 'The Sea' (1970); Highest Israeli Broadcasting Association (IBA) award for producing President Sadat’s first visit to Jerusalem (1977); 'Man of the year' award for becoming the first Israeli broadcasting from Egypt (1977); all electronic Media award for producing the Eurovision song contest in Israel (1979); Honorary Doctorate Degree in Philosophy from Haifa University (2007)

IOC History

Member of the following Commissions: Radio and Television (1984-2015), Coordination for the Games of the XXVIII Olympiad Athens 2004 (1998-2004), Coordination for the Games of the XXIX Olympiad Beijing 2008 (2002-2008), Coordination for the Games of the XXX Olympiad London 2012 (2005-2012), Coordination for the Games of the XXXI Olympiad Rio 2016 (2010-2016), International Relations (2014-2015), Public Affairs and Social Development through Sport (2015-), Communications (2015-), Coordination for the Games of the XXXIII Olympiad Paris 2024 (2017-); Vice-Chair of the Coordination Commission for the Games of the XXXII Olympiad Tokyo 2020 (2013-); Member of the Board of directors of Olympic Channel Services S.L., Spain (2015-)