How to watch Team USA athletes in last day action at Tokyo 2020 Olympics in the coming hours, including men’s marathon

Team USA continue their medal hunt on the final day of the Olympic Games Tokyo 2020, Sunday 8 August (and late Saturday in the U.S.).

Picture by 2020 Getty Images

Day sixteen, and the final day of the Tokyo 2020 Olympics, in 2021, is set to be a thrilling climax to the Games for the United States team on Sunday August 7 (Saturday evening & early Sunday in the U.S.) ahead of the closing ceremony and handover to Paris 2024.

Team USA are competing in five events handing out medals. That includes gold medal games in women’s basketball and indoor volleyball.

Two American boxers are also in the running for gold medals.

It’s another early start for Athletics today with the men’s marathon in Sapporo with more strong U.S. representation, led by Galen Rupp.

Who should you keep an eye and how should you follow their them in action? Read on for more.

Richard Torrez Jr.
Picture by 2021 Getty Images

Team USA: Who to watch on day fifteen of Tokyo 2020 – Sunday 8th August (and evening of Saturday 7th August in the U.S.)

Basketball

Team USA's women take on hosts Japan in the final, going for their seventh-straight gold medal.

The USA were undefeated in the group stage and are tipped to maintain their clean sheet and win their 55th consecutive game. That final is at 11:30 JST on Sunday in Japan, which is 22:30 ET, on Saturday night in the U.S.

Volleyball

Can Team USA win its first ever gold medal at the Olympics?

Well only Brazil stand in the women's team's way for the coveted Olympic title. The Rio 2016 bronze medallists and top ranked team in the world will face World no.2 Brazil at 13:30 JST, that’s Saturday 00:30am ET.

The South Americans took gold at Beijing 2008 and London 2012.

Boxing

Team USA’s hunt for Olympic gold stretches to the final day. U.S. lightweight Keyshawn Davis will fight for gold in the final against highly rated Andy Cruz, the Cuban 2019 world champion at 14:15 JST.

Richard Torrez Jr. will also box for gold, in the men’s super-heavyweight at 15:15 JST against Uzbekistan’s Bakhodir Jalolov. Team USA's men have not won gold in the boxing ring since Athens 2004.

Athletics

As usual, the men’s marathon will bring the curtains down on the athletics action at Tokyo 2020.

U.S. Olympic Marathon Trials winner Galen Rupp, five-time Olympian Abdi Abdirahman and Jacob Riley are the three men to watch in Sapporo from 7am JST (6pm EST on Saturday). Rupp is aiming for podium again, after taking bronze at Rio 2016

Water polo

In the pool, the men’s team will be up against Croatia in the water polo classification 5th-6th game at 11:00 JST.

How to watch U.S. athletes in action at the Tokyo 2020 Games

You can find out where to watch all the action at the Tokyo Olympic Games by clicking here.

For real-time updates on the sporting drama as it unfolds following our Tokyo 2020 live blog here.