U.S. Olympic Track and Field Trials Day 4: Elle Purrier St. Pierre soars to 1500m win, setting meet record; Clayton Murphy captures 800m

Purrier St. Pierre will make her Olympic debut, along with Cory McGee and Heather MacLean. Reigning 800m world champ Donavan Brazier faded in the final and will not go to Tokyo.

Picture by 2020 Getty Images

Elle Purrier St. Pierre was nearly pushed off the track in the first 100 metres of the women's 1500m final, but made sure she led the race from there on out.

The 26-year-old Vermont native set a meet record and recorded a personal best with her 3:58.03, booking her ticket for Tokyo 2020 at the U.S. Olympic Team Trials for track and field in Eugene, Ore. on Monday (21 June).

She'll be joined by Cory McGee and Heather MacLean. Jenny Simpson, the former world champ and 2016 bronze medallist, did not qualify.

"After [the push] I tried to push the pace as hard as I could and lead" the race, she said. "It's surreal; it hasn't set in. I've been dreaming of this moment for so long. I'm really emotional; I'm so happy."

The men's 800m had perhaps the biggest upset of the week so far, with reigning world champion Donavan Brazier failing to make the men's team. Instead, it was Rio 2016 bronze medallist Clayton Murphy who won the race, followed by youngster Isaiah Jewett and Bryce Hoppel.

Brazier was part of the lead pack for much of the race, but failed to match his foes' kick in the final 200 metres.

"I think I made a move a little too early," a dejected Brazier said. "I was trying to get in better position in the first 300 or 350 metres. Exactly what you saw was what happened."

READ MORE: Day 4 preview | Allyson Felix into fifth Games, first as a mom

Day 4: Women's 5000m; men's pole vault, javelin and triple jump

In the women's 5000m, Elise Cranny won the race, followed by Karissa Schweizer and Rachel Schneider, all first-time Olympians. Abbey Cooper (D'Agostino) will not make another appearance at the Games.

In men's pole vault, Chris Nilsen upset 2016 bronze medallist Sam Kendricks to book his ticket to the Games, though Kendricks and K.C. Lightfoot will also join Nilsen in Tokyo. Nilsen won with a 5.9m (19 feet 4 1/4 inches) in a competitive men's field.

Curtis Thompson won the men's javelin with a 82.78 (271 feet 7 inches).

William Claye, a three-time Olympic medallist (including silver in the triple jump in 2012 and 2016), won the men's triple jump in the absence of Olympic champion Christian Taylor, soaring to a 17.21m (56 feet 5 inches) on his final jump. Donald Scott and Chris Benard also made the Tokyo cut.


Free live sport events. Unlimited access to series. Unrivalled Olympic news & highlights.