Tokyo Paralympics: India’s Praveen Kumar bags silver medal in high jump T64 with Asian record

Praveen Kumar managed a jump of 2.07m while Great Britain’s Jonathan Broom-Edwards jumped 2.10m for the gold. India have now won four high jump medals at Tokyo 2020.

By Naveen Peter
Picture by Carmen Mandato/ Getty Images

High jumper Praveen Kumar added another medal to India’s tally at the Tokyo Paralympics with a silver medal in the men’s high jump T64 event on Friday.

Competing in the seven-athlete final at the Tokyo National Stadium, 18-year-old Praveen Kumar managed a best jump of 2.07 metres to finish second. 

Praveen Kumar’s silver was India’s 11th medal at Tokyo 2020. Later, para shooter Avani Lekhara added another medal to the tally with a bronze in the women’s 50m rifle 3-position SH1 event.

The jump also helped Praveen Kumar improve his own Asian record set at the World Para Athletics FAZZA Grand Prix in Dubai earlier this year. Praveen Kumar had won the gold at the Dubai event with a jump of 2.05 metres. 

At Tokyo 2020, world champion Jonathan Broom-Edwards of Great Britain won the gold with a jump of 2.10 metres while two-time Paralympic champion, Poland’s Maciej Lepiato, bagged the bronze with a 2.04 metres jump.

This was India’s fourth high jump medal at the Tokyo Paralympics.

Nishad Kumar (silver men’s high jump T47), Mariyappan Thangavelu (silver in men’s high jump T42) and Sharad Kumar (bronze in men’s high jump T42) are the others in the list.

India’s para shuttlers also continued their fine run at Tokyo 2020 with seven badminton players booking a place in the semi-finals of their respective events. 

Having made the last-four in his singles event, three-time world champion Pramod Bhagat ensured he made the knock-outs of the mixed doubles as well.

Pramod Bhagat and Palak Kohli beat the world no. 3 pair of Siripong Teamarrom and Nipada Saensupa of Thailand 21-15, 21-19 to move into the semis of the mixed doubles SL3-SU5 event.

The 19-year-old Palak Kohli made the cut for the semi-finals in the women’s SU5 event as well. Having beaten Turkey’s Zehra Baglar in their Group A match on Thursday, the Indian confirmed her progress following Baglar’s loss to Japan’s Ayako Suzuki

Palak Kohli and her partner Parul Parmar, however, fell short in the women’s doubles SL3-SU5 event. 

The Indian duo lost to France’s Lenaig Morin and Faustine Noel 12-21, 20-22 in their second group stage match and failed to make it to the knockout rounds.

In men’s singles SL4 category, Tarun Dhillon and Suhas Yathiraj sealed their place in the semi-finals following constarting wins in their group stage matches at the Yoyogi National Gymnasium.

While Suhas Yathiraj enjoyed a comfortable 21-6, 21-12 win over Hary Susanto of Indonesia, Tarun Dhillon was stretched during his 21-18, 15-21, 21-17 win over Shin Kyung Hwan of South Korea.

Later, Manoj Sarkar joined Pramod Bhagat in the semi-finals of the men’s singles SL3 event while Krishna Nagar booked his place in the final four of the men’s singles SH6 event.