Sport climbing Olympic schedule - Adam Ondra and others to watch

Adam Ondra is one of the stars to watch in the new Olympic event which gets underway on Tuesday (3 August). See the schedule, meet the stars and more.

Picture by 2019 Getty Images

The years of waiting are over - sport climbing's debut at the Olympics Games kicks off on Tuesday (3 August) at Tokyo 2020.

The sport's superstars, including Adam Ondra and Janja Garnbret, are eyeing the podium in respective men's and women's events, with the three disciplines - speed climbing, lead climbing and bouldering - combined for one set of medals for men, and one for the women.

Czech star Ondra, 28, is a five-time world champion and seven-time World Cup winner. He's also an avid outdoor and adventure climber who has documented much of his arduous and creative training ahead of the Olympics on his YouTube channel.

Garnbret, a 22-year-old from Slovenia, dominated the World Championships in 2019 and has six world titles to her name.

Scroll down for the schedule of the climbing to come, who to watch out for and other must-knows for the sport's debut at the Olympics Games.

Sport climbing - schedule

You can find a full schedule, results and more here.

Tuesday 3 August

1700 JST (0800 UTC) - Men's speed qualification

1800 JST (0900 UTC) - Men's bouldering qualification

2110 JST (1210 UTC) - Men's lead qualification

Wednesday 4 August

1700 JST (0800 UTC) - Women's speed qualification

1800 JST (0900 UTC) - Women's bouldering qualification

2110 JST (1210 UTC) - Women's lead qualification

Thursday 4 August

1730 JST (0830 UTC) - Men's speed final

1830 JST (0930 UTC) - Men's bouldering final

2110 JST (1210 UTC) - Men's lead final

Friday 6 August

1730 JST (0830 UTC) - Women's speed final

1830 JST (0930 UTC) - Women's bouldering final

2110 JST (1210 UTC) - Women's lead final

Ondra, Garnbret and other sport climbing stars to watch

While Ondra and Garnbret are two of the biggest names in the sport's Games debut, climbing is massively popular in the host country Japan with home athletes aiming to land on the podium in both the men's and women's events.

READ: Five things to know about Adam Ondra

For the men, NARASAKI Tomoa and HARADA Kai carry Japanese hopes, with NONAKA Miho and NOGUCHI Akiyo going in the women's event.

Nonaka hasn't finished outside the top 10 in a World Cup in 2021, and was ranked No.1 in the world in bouldering in 2018.

Narasaki, the current world No.1 in men's bouldering, has two podium finishes in Word Cup competition this year.

These athletes are superstars in Japan with Nonaka boasting some 200,000 followers on Instagram.

French brothers Mickael and Bassa Mawem are contenders in the men's event, as is Sean McColl of Canada.

Also look out for Italy's Ludovico Fossali, Jakob Schubert of Austria, German pair Alexander Megos and Jan Hojer, and Rishat Khaibullin of Kazakhstan.

In the women's, Garnbret and the two Japanese climbers are expected to be among the favourites, but keep an eye on Shauna Coxsey of Great Britain, Aleksandra Miroslaw of Poland, Switzerland's Petra Klingler, Jessica Pilz of Austria and Chaeyun Seo of the Republic of Korea.

Team USA features Brooke Raboutou and Kyra Condie on the women's side, with Nathaniel Coleman and Colin Duffy competing for the men.

In the weeks leading up to Tokyo, it was Schubert and Garnbret who captured World Cup victories ahead of the Games.

Find a full list of competing athletes here.