National Greco Roman Championship: Defending champion Gurpreet Singh retains title

All the winners in their respective categories have a chance to participate in the Matteo Pellicone Rome Rankings series next month.

By Samrat Chakraborty

Defending champion Gurpreet Singh lived up to the expectations as he bagged a gold medal in the 77kg category on the final day of the 65th National Greco Roman National Wrestling Championship on Sunday in Jalandhar.

The Punjab wrestler outclassed Mohammed Rafeeq Holi in the final clash. Gurpreet's impressive performance comes after missing out on the Individual World Cup in 2020 as he tested positive for Covid-19 ahead of the event. Incidentally, the Punjab wrestler did not leak a single point in his run to the final.

The win will act as a boost for Gurpreet ahead of the Asian Olympic qualifiers. He had earlier clinched a gold medal in the World Ranking Series in Sassari, Italy, which made him the first Indian to win back-to-back titles in World Ranking Series.

The two-day event concluded the Wrestling nationals which was held in three-parts which included the Freestyle and Women’s events which were held last month across different venues.

It turned out to be a positive day for Asian Championship gold medallist Sunil Kumar as well, as he stretched his winning run and stamped his authority on the 87kg event by reclaiming the top podium finish.

The Service Sports Control Board (SSCB) wrestling team bagged the best team award after edging out arch-rivals Railway Sports Promotion Board (RSPB) at the event. The Services bagged a total of 190 points to their tally while Railways could manage 170.

All the winners in their respective categories will participate in the Matteo Pellicone Rome Rankings series next month.

Whereas, the top four finishers in each of the weight categories will be selected for the national preparatory camp at SAI centre in Sonepat, set to start next week.

Final results

55kg - 1. Arjun Halakurki (SSCB), 2. Vijay (SSCB)

60kg - 1. Manish (RSPB), Sunny Jadhav (MP)

63kg - 1. Neeraj (Del), 2. Govind (Mah)

67kg - 1. Gaurav (UP), 2. Surajmal (SSCB)

72kg - 1. Kuldeep Malik (RSPB), 2. Sameer (Mah)

77kg - 1. Gurpreet Singh (Pun), 2. Mohd. Rafeeq Holi (SSCB)

82kg - 1. Harpreet Singh (Pun), 2. Sanjeet (SSCB)

87kg - 1. Sunil Kumar (RSPB), 2. Prabhpal Singh (Pun)

97kg - 1. Deepanshu (SSCB), 2. Ravi (RSPB)

130kg - 1. Naveen (SSCB), 2. Ravi (Del)


Free live sport events. Unlimited access to series. Unrivalled Olympic news & highlights.