National Games 2022: Sajan Prakash and 14-year-old Hashika Ramachandra win gold medals in swimming

Sajan Prakash now has five gold medals at this edition of the Games while Hashika Ramachandra took her tally to seven with six gold medals and a bronze.

5 min By Ali Asgar Nalwala
TOKYO, JAPAN - JULY 26: Sajan Prakash of Team India competes in heat two of the Men's 200m Butterfly on day three of the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games at Tokyo Aquatics Centre on July 26, 2021 in Tokyo, Japan. (Photo by Maddie Meyer/Getty Images)
(Picture by Getty Images)

Indian swimmers Sajan Prakash (Kerala) and 14-year-old Hashika Ramachandra (Karnataka) won two more gold medals each at the National Games 2022 in Gujarat on Friday.

Competing at the Sardar Patel Aquatics Complex in Rajkot, Sajan Prakash overcame stiff challenges from Advait Page (Madhya Pradesh) in the men’s 400m freestyle and Karnataka’s S Siva in the 200m individual medley, taking his personal gold medal tally to five at this edition.

Hashika Ramachandra, meanwhile, won gold in the women’s 400m freestyle and 200m individual medley to finish her campaign with six golds and one bronze.

The teenager’s performance overshadowed Olympian Maana Patel, who won her third backstroke gold for Gujarat on Friday. Maana Patel, however, set new National Games records with each of her podium finishes.

Gujarat’s Pooja Patel, meanwhile, won the host state’s 10th gold medal by bagging top podium in women’s traditional yogasana.

Rajasthan’s Vivaan Kapoor won the men’s trap shooting gold at the Crowne Shooting Academy near Gandhinagar. He pipped Punjab’s Zoravar Singh Sandhu in the final.

In the women’s trap final, Neeru (Madhya Pradesh) edged out Sabeera Haris (Uttar Pradesh) to the gold by a two-point difference. Seema Tomar of Services’ won bronze. Delhi’s Kirti Gupta, who had topped the qualification round, finished fourth.

At the Mahatma Mandir in Gandhinagar, world boxing championships medallists Simranjit Kaur Baath (Punjab) and Shiva Thapa (Assam) outclassed their respective opponents to advance to the quarter-finals.

Simranjit Kaur, a 2018 world bronze medallist, looked in fine form in the women’s 60kg as she outpunched 2019 National Championship bronze medallist Rinki Sharma (Uttar Pradesh).

Shiva Thapa, meanwhile, recorded a 5-0 win over Aniket J Pandey (Gujarat).

World youth champion Sachin Siwach (Haryana) also progressed to the last eight in the men’s 57kg after a clinical show. Similarly, Asian championship bronze medalist Saweety Boora (Haryana) got off to a winning start in the women’s 75kg division.

Back in Rajkot, Maharashtra’s 24-year-old gymnast-turned-diver Medhali Redkar dominated the 1m springboard diving competition to win gold.

In the women’s hockey quarter-finals, Madhya Pradesh beat Odisha 4-2 to set up a semis clash against a star-studded Haryana who scored six against Karnataka. Jharkhand, who beat Uttar Pradesh 6-1 will take on Punjab in the other semi-finals.

Reigning champions Services remain unchallenged at the top of the National Games 2022 medal tally with 100 medals, 42 gold, 31 silver and 27 bronze. Haryana are second with 29 gold medals (75 overall) while Maharashtra are third with 26 (100 overall).

National Games 2022 results: Friday, October 7

The results (finals)



Women’s 1m Springboard: 1. Medhali Redkar (Maharashtra) 171.50 points; 2. Ashna Chevli (Gujarat) 148.30; 3. Hrutika Shriram (Maharashtra) 145.15.


Men’s 400m Freestyle: 1. Sajan Prakash (Kerala) 3:58.11; 2. Advait Page (Madhya Pradesh) 3:58.35; 3. Aneesh S Gowda (Karnataka) 3:38.85.

Men’s 50m Backstroke: 1. Srihari Nataraj (Karnataka) 26.65 seconds (New National Games record. Old: 25.88, Srihari Nataraj, Rajkot, 2022); 2. V Vinayak (Services) 26.72; 3. S Siva (Karnataka) 27.11.

Men’s 200m Individual Medley: 1. Sajan Prakash (Kerala) 2:05.81 (New National Games record. Old: 2:08.98, PS Madhu, Thiruvananthapuram, 2015); 2. S Siva (Karnataka) 2:07.47; 3. Rohit Benedicton (Tamil Nadu) 2:08.66.

Women’s 400m Freestyle: Hashika Ramachandra (Karnataka) 4:32.17 (New National Games Record. Old: 4:32.50, Aakanskha Vora, Thiruvananthapuram, 2015); 2. Bhavya Sachdeva (Delhi) 4:32.80; 3. Vritti Aggarwal (Telangana) 4:34.96.

Women’s 50m Backstroke: 1. Maana Patel (Gujarat) 29.77 seconds (New National Games record. Old: 29.91, Maana Patel, Rajkot, 2022); 2. Riddhima Veerendrakumar (Karnataka) 30.13; 3. Sagnika Roy (West Bengal) 31.24.

Women’s 200m Individual Medley: 1. Hashika Ramachandra (Karnataka) 2:26.23; 2. Manavi Varma (Karnataka) 2:27.13; 3. Shrungi Bandekar (Goa) 2:28.64..

Mixed 4x100m Freestyle Relay: 1. Karnataka (Sambhavv Rao, Nina Venkatesh, S Rujula, Srihari Nataraj) 3:44.62; 2. Maharashtra 3:47.81; 2. Tamil Nadu 3:50.74.


Men’s 60kg: Vijay Kumar Yadav (Uttar Pradesh) beat Harsh Singh (Delhi). Bronze medals: Ashish Sangwan (Haryana) and Sachin Singh Rawat (Uttarakhand).

Men’s 66kg: NK Romen Singh (Services) beat Ayush Mavari (Delhi). Bronze medals: Saurab Rawat (Uttarakhand) and Jatinder Singh (Punjab).

Women’s 63kg: H Sunibala Devi (Manipur) beat Mega Tokas (Delhi); Bronze medals: Unnati Sharma (Uttarakhand) and Pooka (Haryana).

Women’s +78kg: Tulika Maan (Delhi) beat Kanwar Preet Kaur (Punjab); Bronze medals: Apoorva Mahesh Patil (Maharashtra) and Arti Sharma (Haryana).


Men’s Trap: 1. Vivaan Kapoor (Rajasthan) 31; 2. Zoravar Singh Sandhu (Punjab) 26; 3. Balabhadra Tarashia (Services) 20.

Women’s Trap: 1. Neeru (Madhya Pradesh) 26; 2. Sabeera Haris (Uttar Pradesh) 24; 3. Seema Tomar (Services) 17.


Men’s Traditional: 1. Vaibhav Waman Shrirame (Maharashtra) 61.84 points; 2. Shubham Debnath (West Bengal) 61.49; 3. Mohammed Firoz Sheik (Karnataka) 61.33.

Women’s Traditional: 1. Pooja Patel (Gujarat) 62.46 points; 2. Chakkuli Bansilal Selokar (Maharashtra) 62.34; 3. Nirmala Subhash Kodilkar (Karnataka) 60.58.

Other results


Women’s (quarter-finals): Madhya Pradesh beat Odisha 4-2 (Half-time 3-1); Haryana beat Karnataka 6-0 (3-0); Jharkhand beat Uttar Pradesh 6-1 (3-0); Punjab beat Gujarat (15-0).


Men’s Group A: West Bengal beat Karnataka 3-1 (Half-time: 0-0); Gujarat beat Punjab 3-2 (Half-time 2-1).

Golf (leading scores)

Men (after two rounds): Karandeep Kochhar (Chandigarh) and Abhinav Lohan (Haryana) 134; Rohan Dhole Patil (Maharashtra) 141; Arjun Bhati (Uttar Pradesh) and Sunhit Bishnoi (Haryana) 142; Ishaan Chawan (Maharashtra) and Varun Ashish Parikh (Gujarat) 143; Aryan Roopa Anand (Karnataka) 144.

Women (after two rounds): Amandeep Kaur (Punjab) 141; Nishna Hemesh Patel (Maharashtra) 142; Avani Prashanth (Karnataka) 145; Gaurika Bishnoi (Haryana) 147; Puneet Kaur Bajwa (Punjab), Durga Nittur (Karnataka) and Vani Kapoor (Delhi) 149; Keerthana Rajeev (Karnataka) and Khushi Kanijai (Rajasthan) 150.

Add this to your favourites

You May Like