World Wrestling Championships: Olympic medallists Bajrang Punia, Ravi Dahiya to spearhead Indian men's team

The CWG gold-medallists will be chasing their first world championships gold as Deepak Punia looks to build on his silver from 2019.

By Rahul Venkat
Picture by Getty Images

Tokyo Olympic medallists Bajrang Punia and Ravi Kumar Dahiya will lead the Indian wrestling team in the men’s competitions at the World Wrestling Championships 2022 in Belgrade, Serbia next month.

Ravi Kumar Dahiya, the silver-medallist at Tokyo 2020 and the Commonwealth Games 2022 champion, had won a bronze at the 2019 worlds.

Fellow CWG gold-medallists Bajrang Punia and Deepak Punia will also be chasing an elusive world championship gold for India. Bajrang Punia won silver in 2018 and has also won bronze medals in 2013 and 2019. 

Deepak Punia impressed in the 2019 edition, when on his senior worlds debut, he blazed through the field to reach the final. Only an injury prevented him from taking the mat against Olympic and world champion Hassan Yazdani in the final and he had to settle for the silver.

While the three were given automatic spots for their respective weight categories at the world championships in Belgrade, the remaining were chosen from the selection trials held at Sonepat on Tuesday.

A total of 10 freestyle wrestlers and as many Greco-Roman grapplers made the cut.

Sagar Jaglan, who won bronze at the 2022 junior world championships, won the trials in the 74kg while another CWG champion Naveen was selected in the 70kg.

Olympians Vinesh Phogat and Sonam Malik will lead the women’s team as worlds silver-medallist Anshu Malik is set to miss out after undergoing elbow surgery.

Indian men’s team for World Wrestling Championships 2022 


Ravi Dahiya (57kg), Pankaj Malik (61kg), Bajrang Punia (65kg), Naveen Malik (70kg), Sagar Jaglan (74kg), Deepak Mirka (79kg), Deepak Punia (86kg), Vicky Hooda (92kg), Vicky Chahar (97kg), Dinesh Dhankar (125kg)


Arjun Halakurki (55kg), Gyanender (60kg), Neeraj (63kg), Ashu (67kg), Vikas (72kg), Sachin (77kg), Harpreet Singh (82kg), Sunil Kumar (87kg), Deepanshu (97kg), Satish (130kg)


Free live sport events. Unlimited access to series. Unrivalled Olympic news & highlights.