Shiva Thapa wins boxing nationals, punches ticket to world championship

Mohammad Hussamuddin lost in the final in his category. All gold medallists from the 13 weight categories have booked their place for the world championships next month.

By Aarish Ansari
Picture by BFI

Shiva Thapa successfully defended his title at the men’s national boxing championships 2021 on Tuesday while Mohammad Hussamuddin had to settle for silver.

The two-time Olympian and five-time Asian medallist from Assam, Shiva Thapa romped to a convincing 5-0 victory over Dalveer Singh Tomar of Services Sports Control Board (SSCB) in the 63.5kg final.

As a result, Thapa, a 2015 world bronze medallist, will don the Indian jersey once again at the 2021 world championship in Belgrade, Serbia next month.

Meanwhile, defending featherweight champion Mohammad Hussamuddin of SSCB was stunned by Delhi teenager Rohit Mor in the 57kg final.

Rohit Mor, a 2020 Khelo India champion, fought splendidly to outbox the 2018 Commonwealth Games bronze medallist Hussamuddin by unanimous decision.

SSCB, however, found success as the day progressed, with eight of its 11 finalists taking the top honours.

Reigning Asian champion Sanjeet of SSCB also picked up a 5-0 win over Haryana’s Naveen Kumar in the 92kg heavyweight division.

Govind Sahani (48kg), Deepak Kumar (51kg), Akash (54kg), Varinder Singh (60kg), Akash (67kg), Nishant Dev (71kg), Sumit (75kg), Sachin Kumar (80kg), Lakshya (86kg) and Narender (92+kg) were the other gold medallists on the final day.

All 13 winners at the national championships will represent India at next month’s world event. All finalists will train at the national camp whereas the semi-finalists will have to go through a selection trial to find a place at the camp.

SSCB, with eight gold, three silver and one bronze medal were the best team for the second straight edition. Railway Sports Promotion Board (RSPB), with two gold, two bronze and three silver, were second, followed by Delhi (one gold, four bronze) in third.

Deepak Kumar was named the best boxer while Nishant Dev took home the most promising boxer award.

Indian men’s national boxing championships 2021 winners

Indian men’s national boxing championship 2021 winners
Weight category Winner Runner-up
48kg Govind Sahani Kuldeep Kumar
51kg Deepak Ankit
54kg Akash Rajpinder Singh
57kg Rohit Mor Mohammad Hussamuddin
60kg Varinder Singh Etash Khan Muhammed
63.5kg Shiva Thapa Dalveer Singh Tomar
67kg Akash Aditya Pratap Yadav
71kg Nishant Dev Amit Kumar
75kg Sumit Rohit Tokas
80kg Sachin Kumar Vinit
86kg Lakshya Paryag Chauhan
92kg Sanjeet Naveen Kumar
92+kg Narender Sagar


Free live sport events. Unlimited access to series. Unrivalled Olympic news & highlights.
Sign up here Sign up here