No Tokyo Olympians in India’s new-look team for world archery championships in September

Deepika Kumari, Atanu Das, Pravin Jadhav and Tarundeep Rai failed to finish in the top three at the selection trials held after Tokyo 2020.

By Aarish Ansari
Picture by 2019 Getty Images

Twelve Indian archers will participate in the 2021 Archery World Championships next month in a new-look squad that will have none of the four Tokyo Olympians.

The squad for the world championships -- to be held from September 19 to 26 at Yankton, South Dakota, USA -- has been selected on the basis of trials in Sonepat, Haryana on August 4 and 5. 

The Tokyo 2020 Olympians Atanu Das, Pravin Jadhav, Tarundeep Rai and Deepika Kumari failed to finish in the top three during the trials, held a day after their return from Japan.

World No. 1 recurve archer Deepika Kumari finished fourth in the trials, behind teenagers Komalika Bari and Ridhi Phor and world No. 32 Ankita Bhakat. Only the best three from each category were chosen.

Veterans Tarundeep Rai (ninth), Atanu Das (17th) and Pravin Jadhav (20th), who had won silver in the men’s team event at the previous world championship in 2019, also failed to make the top three. The men’s recurve team will now feature Aditya Chaudhary, Atul Verma and Parth Salunke.

The Indian contingent, comprising six recurve and six compound archers, has an average age of less than 20 years. They will compete in 10 events at the world championships.

"It's a very promising sign that the juniors are coming up in the senior team. They are the future," former Olympian Sanjeeva Singh, who oversaw the trials, told PTI.

Indian archers had a challenging campaign in Tokyo and returned empty-handed. Deepika Kumari, in her third Olympics at Tokyo 2020, reached the quarter-final while Atanu Das was the best among the men, reaching the top 16. The men’s team and mixed team also crashed out in the last eight.

Indian team for 2021 Archery World Championships

Recurve men

Aditya Chaudhary, Parth Salunke and Atul Verma

Recurve women

Komolika Bari, Ridhi Phor and Ankita Bhakat

Compound men

Abhishek Verma, Sangam Singh Bisla and Rishab Yadav

Compound women

Muskan Kirar, Jyothi Surekha Vennam and Priya Gurjar


Free live sport events. Unlimited access to series. Unrivalled Olympic news & highlights.
Sign up here Sign up here