Get ready for your next regatta in the inaugural Olympic Virtual Series Sailing Event!  

This is your chance to bring your best virtual sailing skills and tactics to the Olympic Virtual Series for the Sailing Event.

Organised by World Sailing, the Sailing Event is an online sailing simulator within the game Virtual Regatta, providing the opportunity for those passionate about sailing to compete at any time, in any location. There is no need for sailing equipment or facilities to be part of the competition. Simply register now to be a part of it all in the inaugural Olympic Virtual Series Sailing Event!

You can play on multiple devices, such as a tablet, mobile device, or computer. It doesn’t matter if you sail for fun, for competition, or if you are a gamer ready to try something new. Join us to sail the specially-designed routes for this first competition of its kind, and play side-by-side with professionals and legends of the sport, including Olympic hopeful Bart Lambriex (NED) and Spain SailGP Team member Joan Cardona (ESP).

The sailing simulator closely matches the rules and formats from the real world, adding accuracy and a close connection to the real world of sailing — credibility that is valuable to eSailors of all skill levels.

The event will offer two types of Sailing experience:

  1. OFFSHORE MODE: The ‘Rio to Tokyo Race,’ which begins on 28 May, will focus on tactics, strategy, and judgment. In this mode, players will take a 25-30 day sailing route from Rio de Janeiro to Tokyo.
  2. INSHORE MODE: Starting on 20 May, it will feature three action-fuelled events which will each crown a winner.

Important dates for Sailing Event in the Olympic Virtual Series:

Qualifications Events - Inshore series

  • Laser: 20th May at 10:00 UTC (12:00 CEST) to 22nd May at 18:00 UTC (20:00 CEST).
  • 49er: 3rd June at 10.00 UTC (12:00 CEST) to 5th June at 18.00 UTC (20:00 CEST).
  • Nacra17: 17th June at 10.00 UTC (12:00 CEST) to 19th June 18.00 UTC (20:00 CEST).

Finals - Inshore series

  • Laser: Tuesday 25th May - 19:00 UTC (21:00 CEST).
  • 49er: Sunday 6th June - 19:00 UTC (21:00 CEST).
  • Nacra 17: Wednesday 23rd June - 19:00 UTC (21:00 CEST).

Offshore Rio to Tokyo Race start:

  • Friday 28th May - 18.30 UTC (20:30 CEST).

How to participate in the Olympic Virtual Series Sailing Event :

Sign up on the Virtual Regatta website, or download the game, and sign up through the event page. You’ll need to register to play the game - that goes for both the offshore and the inshore events - but once that’s done, you’re ready to participate.

Sign up now to participate in the Olympic Virtual Series Sailing Event here: www.virtualregatta.com

GO OLYMPIC. GET ALL THIS.

Free live sport events. Unlimited access to series. Unrivalled Olympic news & highlights.