FIFA World Cup 2022: Final list of qualified countries confirmed

All 32 teams that will compete in Qatar are now known, after Costa Rica's play-off win against New Zealand on 14 June. See all the details of the groups below.

Picture by 2006 Getty Images

The groups for the FIFA World Cup 2022 were decided at a draw in Qatar, where the tournament will take place in November and December of this year.

A total of eight groups, each featuring four teams, will compete in the first round of the competition, which begins on November 21.

The 32 teams that will compete in the tournament have been confirmed after the two remaining spots were decided during the Intercontinental Play-offs that took place on 13 and 14 June.

Find out all the groups for the FIFA World Cup 2022 below.

Group A

Hosts Qatar will kick off their tournament on home soil against Ecuador, who finished fourth in the South American qualifying stage. The two teams are joined in Group A by 2022 AFCON champions Senegal, and European powerhouses Netherlands who were among the group of second seeds for this year's tournament.

Group A teams

Senegal's Sadio Mane 
Picture by 2018 Getty Images

Group B

Group B sees 1966 World Cup champions England begin their campaign against Islamic Republic of Iran. The USA, who finished third in their qualifying group behind Canada and Mexico, were also drawn in Group B with the fourth spot being awarded to Gareth Bale's Wales, after winning the European Play-off over Ukraine.

Group B teams
Islamic Republic of Iran

Group C

Lionel Messi's Argentina have been drawn in Group C, where they will face Saudi Arabia, Mexico and Poland. Argentina have won the tournament twice in their history, including a home victory in 1978 and a win on the soil of this year's opponents Mexico in 1986. They will be looking for more glory in a tournament that may well represent Messi's final chance to lift the World Cup.

Group C teams
Saudi Arabia

Lionel Messi of Argentina
Picture by 2018 Getty Images

Group D

Group D sees defending champions and two-time World Cup winners France face off against Euro 92 champions Denmark and African powerhouses Tunisia. The final team in the group was decided in an Intercontinental Play-off, which saw Australia win on penalties against Peru.

Group D teams

Group E

In what may be on paper the most challenging group in the tournament, 2010 champions Spain have been drawn to play four-time winners Germany. Japan, who finished second in their qualifying group behind Saudi Arabia, will provide stern competition in Group E. The final spot in the group was decided after Costa Rica won an Intercontinental Play-off against New Zealand.

Group E teams
Costa Rica

Spain's Pedri 
Picture by 2021 Getty Images

Group F

After securing a historic first qualification in 36 years, Canada now know their fate for this year's World Cup. They will be joined by Belgium, ranked second in the world, 2018 finalists Croatia and Morocco in a Group F that looks to be one of the most competitive of the tournament.

Group F teams

Group G

Brazil have lifted the World Cup on a record five occasions. If they are to do so again they will first need to navigate their way past three strong teams in Serbia, Switzerland and Cameroon. The Seleção are currently ranked first in the world rankings, having won their qualifying group ahead of neighbours and long-time rivals Argentina.

Group G teams

Neymar Jr of Brazil 

Group H

Group H will feature Portugal, Ghana, Uruguay and Republic of Korea, with four strong nations all vying for qualification to the knockout rounds. Uruguay have lifted the trophy on two occasions in their history, while Portgual can rely on the talents of talisman Cristiano Ronaldo, the all-time leading goalscorer in men's international football, as they aim to win the ultimate prize in men's football.

Group H teams
Republic of Korea


Free live sport events. Unlimited access to series. Unrivalled Olympic news & highlights.