Dilip Tirkey elected as new Hockey India president

The former Indian captain and Olympian was elected unopposed. Tirkey's position has been accepted by the international hockey federation.

By Ali Asgar Nalwala
Picture by Hockey India (HI)

Former Indian men’s team captain Dilip Tirkey was elected as the new Hockey India (HI) president on Friday.

The Hockey India elections were scheduled on October 1 and Sunday (September 18) was the last date for filing nomination papers for the available posts. 

However, after Uttar Pradesh Hockey chief Rakesh Katyal and Hockey Jharkhand's Bhola Nath Singh withdrew their nominations for the president’s post, Dilip Tirkey, who contested on behalf of the Hockey Association of Odisha, was elected as president unopposed as per the HI constitution in advance.

Bhola Nath Singh revealed that he withdrew his nomination after due consultation with Dilip Tirkey.

"He is a legend and we have decided to work jointly for the good of Indian hockey. Our aim is to see India win the Olympic gold again," Bhola Nath Singh, who was elected unopposed as the secretary general, told PTI.

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) also approved Dilip Tirkey and his team's appointments.

"We are delighted that the election process has been completed and a democratic body is now in place. We extend our congratulations to Dr Dilip Tirkey, Bhola Nath Singh and Sekar J Manoharan and look forward to working with them closely," the FIH statement read.

Dilip Tirkey played 412 international games for the Indian men’s hockey team between 1995 and 2010.

Dilip Tirkey, now 44, represented India at three Olympic Games and was a member of the Indian team that won the gold medal at the 1998 Asian Games in Bangkok and silver at the 2012 edition. He was also part of the team which won gold medals in the 2003 and 2007 editions of the Asia Cup.

The former India full-back, who is also a politician and a former member of the Upper House of the Indian Parliament, vowed to take Indian hockey to new heights shortly after his appointment as president.

Asima Ali (vice president female) of Hockey Jammu & Kashmir, Karnataka's SVS Subramanya Gupta (vice president male), Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu's Sekar J Manoharan (treasurer), Hockey Rajasthan's Arti Singh (joint secretary female) and Hockey Haryana's Sunil Malik (joint secretary male) are the other HI members elected. All of them won unopposed.

The five executive board members are Arun Kumar Sarswat (Hockey Rajasthan), Asrita Lakra (Hockey Jharkhand), Gurpreet Kaur (Delhi Hockey), V Sunil Kumar (Kerala Hockey) and Tapan Kumar Das (Assam Hockey).


Free live sport events. Unlimited access to series. Unrivalled Olympic news & highlights.