Indians at Commonwealth Games 2022, August 4 full schedule: M Sreeshankar chases medal, PV Sindhu in singles, Hima Das to begin on Thursday

Badminton and table tennis singles events start. Manika Batra will play. Young Anahat Singh is back in action in the squash women’s doubles. Get Thursday’s schedule.

By Rahul Venkat
Picture by 2018 Getty Images

Murali Sreeshankar and Muhammed Anees Yahiya will headline India’s charge at the Commonwealth Games 2022 in Birmingham on Thursday.

The duo has qualified for the long jump finals, with M Sreeshankar topping the charts, and will look to add to India’s medal tally today.

Indian boxer Amit Panghal could guarantee himself a medal too. Panghal, who won silver at Gold Coast 2018, will take on Scotland’s Lennon Mulligan in the men’s 51kg flyweight at Birmingham 2022.

Fellow boxers Jaismine Lamboria, Sagar and Rohit Tokas will also assure themselves a medal if they win their quarter-final bouts.

Star athlete Hima Das will feature for the first time at CWG 2022 as she competes in the women’s 200m heats. This will be her first time running the 200m at the CWG; she had run the 400m at Gold Coast 2018, finishing sixth in the final.

Singles bronze-medallist Saurav Ghosal will be in action in the mixed doubles in squash with Dipika Pallikal while teenager Anahat Singh will again be in the spotlight, this time in the women’s doubles with Sunayna Kuruvilla.

The Indian men’s hockey team will look to confirm the top spot in Pool B in their final group match against Wales

The badminton and table tennis stars - who won medals in the team events - will begin their respective singles and doubles campaigns on Thursday.

PV Sindhu will be the first Indian badminton player to play a match today.

Commonwealth Games 2022 schedule for India today: Thursday, August 4

All times are in India Standard Time (IST)


Qualifying, women’s hammer throw: Sarita Singh, Manju Bala - 2:30 PM IST

Heat 2, women’s 200m: Hima Das - 3:03 PM IST

Final, men’s long jump: Murali Sreeshankar, Muhammed Anees Yahiya - 12:12 AM IST (August 5)


Round of 32, women's singles: PV Sindhu vs Fathimath Nabaaha Abdul Razzaq (MDV) - 3:00 PM IST

Round of 32, men’s singles: Kidambi Srikanth vs Daniel Wanagaliya (UGA) - 4:00 PM IST

Round of 32, mixed doubles:  B Sumeeth Reddy /Ashwini Ponnappa vs Callum Hemming / Jessica Pugh (ENG) - 4:00 PM IST

Round of 32, women’s singles: Mahoor Shahzad (PAK) vs Aakarshi Kashyap - 10:00 PM IST

Round of 32, men's singles: Lakshya Sen vs Vernon Smeed (SHN) - 11:30 PM IST


Quarter-final, men’s flyweight: Amit Panghal vs Lennon Mulligan (SCO) - 4:45 PM IST

Quarter-final, women’s lightweight: Troy Garton (NZL) vs Jaismine Lamboria - 6:15 PM IST

Quarter-final, men’s superheavyweight: Keddy Evans Agnes (SEY) vs Sagar - 8:00 PM IST

Quarter-final, men’s welterweight: Rohit Tokas vs Xavier Mata’afa-Ikinofo - 12:30 AM IST (August 5)


Men’s Pool B: India vs Wales - 6:30 PM IST

Lawn Bowls

Section D, men’s singles: Ross Davis (JEY) vs Mridul Borgohain - 4:00 PM IST

Rhythmic Gymnastics

Qualifying, individual sub-division 1: Bavleen Kaur - 4:30 PM IST onwards


Round of 32, women’s doubles: Sunayna Kuruvilla/Anahat Singh vs Yeheni Kuruppu/Sinaly Chanithma (SRI) - 5:30 PM IST

Round of 32, men’s doubles: V Senthilkumar/Abhay Singh vs Luca Reich/Joe Chapman (IVB) - 6:00 PM IST

Round of 16, mixed doubles: Joshna Chinappa/Harinder Pal Singh Sandhu vs Donna Lobban vs Cameron Pilley (AUS) - 6:00 PM IST

Round of 16, mixed doubles: Dipika Pallikal/Saurav Ghosal vs Emily Whitlock / Peter Creed (WAL) - 7:00 PM IST

Round of 16, women’s doubles: Joshna Chinappa/Dipika Pallikal vs TBD - 11:45 PM IST

Table Tennis

Round of 64, mixed doubles: Sanil Shetty/Reeth Tennison vs Wong Qi Shen/Tee Ai Xin (MAS) - 2:35 PM IST

Round of 32, mixed doubles: Sathiyan Gnanasekaran/Manika Batra vs TBD - 8:30 PM IST

Round of 32, mixed doubles: TBD vs Sharath Kamal/Sreeja Akula - 9:10 PM IST

Round of 32, women’s singles: Charlotte Bardsley (ENG) vs Reeth Tennison - 10:00 PM IST

Round of 32, women’s singles: Sreeja Akula vs Karen Lyne - 10:00 PM IST

Round of 32, women’s singles: Ching Nam Fu (CAN) vs Manika Batra - 10:45 PM

Round of 32, men’s doubles: Iosif Elia/Christos Savva (CYP) vs Harmeet Desai/Sanil Shetty - 11:30 PM IST

Round of 32, men’s doubles: Joel Alleyne/Jonathan van Lange (GUY) vs Achanta Sharath Kamal/Sathiyan Gnanasekaran - 12:10 AM IST (August 5)

Create your Olympic ID (article fallback) - India

Free live sport events. Unlimited access to series. Unrivalled Olympic news & highlights.