16 JUNE 2020

The postponement of Tokyo 2020 has impacted the regular election schedule and renewal of the terms of office of the members of the IOC Athletes’ Commission (AC), both regarding the elections that were due to take place in Tokyo in August 2020 and for the elections that will take place at the Olympic Winter Games Beijing 2022.

A set of recommendations were developed by the IOC AC to address the impact of the modified Tokyo 2020 timeline on the election procedures, with the aim of ensuring the continuity of and avoiding disruption to the IOC AC’s work, which is and will continue to remain essential. The recommendations were presented to the IOC Executive Board (EB) on 10 June, and resulted in the following decisions:

  • To postpone the IOC Athletes’ Commission election, scheduled to take place in July 2020, to the Games of the XXXII Olympiad held in 2021;
  • That the candidates approved by the EB on 5 December 2019 will remain the only candidates for this election;
  • That the terms of the IOC AC members who will be elected in 2021 will expire on the day of the Closing Ceremony of the Olympic Games Los Angeles 2028, at the latest;
  • That the candidature process for the IOC AC election scheduled to take place at Beijing 2022 will be launched in February 2021, but the submission of candidatures and the subsequent approval process will be finalised after the IOC AC election at the Games of the XXXII Olympiad in 2021, but no later than November 2021;
  • To extend the terms of the five current IOC AC members whose terms were due to expire in 2020 (Kirsty Coventry, Danka Bartekova, Tony Estanguet, James Tomkins and Stefan Holm) until the Games of the XXXII Olympiad in 2021; and
  • To extend the terms of office for the IOC AC Chair (Kirsty Coventry) and Vice-Chair (Danka Bartekova), in accordance with the IOC AC Regulations, until the Games of the XXXII Olympiad in 2021.

These recommendations will now be submitted to the 136th IOC Session in July 2020. The EB will also recommend to the Session to extend the terms as IOC Members of the five current IOC AC members whose terms are due to expire at the Games of the XXXII Olympiad, and that Kirsty Coventry remain a member of the EB until such date.

At its previous meeting in May, the EB had launched a review of the schedule of the IOC AC election in light of the postponement of Tokyo 2020, with a view to holding the election in 2021. The IOC AC election was initially due to take place in the summer of 2020 in Tokyo, with 30 candidates from 30 National Olympic Committees (NOCs) and 19 summer sports standing for the four available positions.