During the World Championships in Oslo, the UWW held its Athletes’ Commission (AC) election, with seven new members elected by their athlete peers.

The seven new members are: Tamas Lorincz, Yui Susaki, Arsen Julfalakyan, Hassan Yazdanicharati, Maxwell Lacey Garita, Blessing Oborududu and Jessica Lavers-McBain.

These seven members will go on to elect the new chairperson tasked with leading the AC for the next four years, until 2025.

UWW has announced the names of the seven new members of its Athletes’ Commission, who were voted in by their peers at the 2021 Senior World Wrestling Championships in Oslo, Norway.

Wrestlers competing at the World Championships were able to vote during the entirety of the event, allowing every athlete in attendance to make their vote count.

Welcoming seven new members

The seven new members are:

  • Tamas LORINCZ (Hungary)
  • Yui SUSAKI (Japan)
  • Arsen JULFALAKYAN (Armenia)
  • Hassan YAZDANICHARATI (Islamic Republic of Iran)
  • Maxwell LACEY GARITA (Costa Rica)
  • Blessing OBORUDUDU (Nigeria)
  • Jessica LAVERS-MCBAIN (Australia)

The UWW AC was established in 2013 to represent athletes from wrestling in their interactions with both the UWW Executive Committee and the wider sporting community. Their duties include actively communicating with the wrestling community, proposing improvements on behalf of athletes to the UWW Bureau, sharing athlete feedback on any rule amendments and proposing possible improvements to competition systems and rules.

The seven members of the AC will decide on a chairperson in the coming months, replacing Jordan Burroughs (USA) who has served in this role since 2017. The members of the newly formed AC will serve for four years, until 2025.

Athletes’ commissions play a vital role in amplifying the athlete voice within the Olympic Movement.