During the 2021 IFSC Climbing World Championships in Moscow, Russia, six athletes were elected to the International Federation’s AC.

Shauna Coxsey, who competed in sport climbing’s Olympic debut at Tokyo 2020, was elected Chair of the commission.

She had previously served as the Vice President and will now head the AC for a four-year term.

Great Britain’s Shauna Coxsey has been elected Chair of the IFSC Athletes’ Commission. The 2016 & 2017 IFSC overall Bouldering World Cup champion retired from competition after Tokyo 2020, but says she now wants to use her experience to give back to the sport.

Shauna is a now-retired sport climber who competed at the Olympic Games Tokyo 2020, the sport’s Olympic debut.

Speaking after her election, Shauna said: “After 24 years climbing, and over a decade competing as a professional athlete, I feel it pertinent to use my experience and give back to the sport that’s given me so much. I have long been passionate about being a part of the positive development of our sport. Having recently retired from professional competition climbing I have both the understanding of what it takes to be up on the stage, and the distance and perspective of now being on the other side of the fence.

“I have also spent the last two years sitting on the IFSC Executive Board as the Athletes’ Commission Vice-Chair. There are lots of opportunities as well as challenges for our sport over the coming years and I am looking forward to working closely with the IFSC to make sure the athlete voice is at the heart of our sport’s development.”

I am looking forward to working closely with the IFSC to make sure the athlete voice is at the heart of our sport’s development.

Shauna Coxsey, IFSC AC Chair

Shauna will work as one of 13 members of the IFSC Athletes’ Commission, which is now currently composed of:

  • Shauna Coxsey (GBR) – Chair, elected in 2021;
  • Anna Tsyganova (RUS) – Member, elected in 2021;
  • Charlotte Durif (FRA) – Member, elected in 2019;
  • Dmitrii Timofeev (RUS) – Member, elected in 2021;
  • Gregor Vezonik (SLO) – Member, elected in 2019;
  • Ievgeniia Kazbekova (UKR) – Member, elected in 2019;
  • Jakob Schubert (AUT) – Member, elected in 2021;
  • Kokoro Fujii (JPN) – Member, elected in 2019;
  • Kyra Condie (USA) – Member, elected in 2019;
  • Michael Piccolruaz (ITA) – Member, elected in 2021;
  • Sean McColl (CAN) – Member, elected in 2021;
  • Stanislav Kokorin (RUS) – Member, elected in 2019;
  • Stasa Gejo (SRB) – Member, elected in 2021.

Sport climbing made its Olympic debut at Tokyo 2020, with 40 climbers from 19 nations competing in the event for the very first time. Such was its success, sport climbing will be given an extra discipline at the 2024 Games, separating Speed Climbing into its own category and providing two gold medals per gender.

If your Athletes’ Commission is planning on holding an election, check out the IOC’s best practice guide.