OCTOBER 10, 2018

The Olympic swimmer is Zimbabwe’s most decorated athlete, having collected seven Olympic medals, including gold in the 200m backstroke at Athens 2004 and Beijing 2008. As Zimbabwe’s Minister for Sport and Chair of the IOC Athletes’ Commission, Kirsty is a keen advocate for youth sports development, having also kick-started her own “Kirsty Coventry Academy” with the goal of reducing drowning deaths within her home nation.

Members of the Coordination Commission represent the stakeholders of the Olympic Movement, including athletes, National Olympic Committees and International Federations. They act as a link between the Organising Committee and other Olympic Movement stakeholders, thereby ensuring the coordination necessary to help deliver yet another successful edition of the Youth Olympic Games.

The full composition of the Commission is as follows: IOC Members Paul Tergat, Nawal El Moutawakel, Gunilla Lindberg and Li Lingwei – who is currently Chair of the Buenos Aires 2018 Coordination Commission. Andrew Ryan, Executive Director of ASOIF, and Leandro Larossa, CEO of Buenos Aires 2018, will also join the Commission.